Office of the Provost

Outstanding Advisor Award

Do you know an academic advisor who...

  • Demonstrates effective interpersonal skills?
  • Educates and empowers students to make informed academic decisions & prioritize their commitments to maximize academic success? 
  • Is knowledgeable about The University of Toledo policies & resources?

If so, consider nominating this individual for the Outstanding Advisor Award.

Nominations will begin January 27, 2020 and remain open until Monday, February 17 at 5:00 p.m.

Click on the button below to make your nomination:

Outstanding advisoR Nomination Form  Nomination period is closed.

The Outstanding Advisor Award was established at The University of Toledo in 1986 to honor faculty and staff who exemplify excellence in academic advising.  Academic advising assists students in the development of meaningful educational plans that enrich their studies and promote the achievement of life goals.  This award is one way in which The University of Toledo expresses its commitment to this very important component of higher education.

Students, alumni, faculty, and staff are strongly encouraged to nominate candidates for the Outstanding Advisor Award. Nominees will be notified by the Selection Committee and asked to submit a personal philosophy on advising and either a resume or curriculum vita.

Previous Outstanding Advisor Award winners are not eligible to receive the award.  View a list of past winners under menu options.

For further information, contact:

Cathy Zimmer 
Director of Academic and Curricular Initiatives 
Office of the Provost

Past Outstanding Advisor Award Recipients

2020 Dr. Lorie D. Gottwald and Matt Reising

2019 Nicholas Kissoff and Max Kupresanin

2018 Amanda Seabolt and Dr. Jerry Van Hoy (pg 8)

2017 Rose Marie Ackerman and Matthew Franchetti (pg 6)

2016 Dr. Julie Murphy and Myrna Rudder

2015 Dr. Johan Gottgens and Michelle Sullivan

2014 Adrienne Aguilar and Dr. Lynn Bachelor

2013 Christina Hennen,Dr. Kristen Keith

2012 Michelle Rose, Dr. Linda L. Smith

2011 Dr. Christine Hinko, Dr. Robert Detwiler

2010 Dr.Christina Fitzgerald, Kathy Helmick, Wiona Altic Porath

2009 Chanda Filipek, Dr. David Wilson

2008 Dr. Jeanne (Funk) Brockmyer, Kim Pollauf

2007 Patricia Beckett, Sakui Malakpa

2006 Patricia Komuniecki, Deborah J. Sobczak

2005 Cora Allen, Alice Skeens

2004 Deborah Jones, Elliot Tramer

2003 Marie Johnson-Ham, Nancy Lapp, Sharon Schnarre

2002 Julie Fischer-Kinney, Martin Ritchie

2001 Lisa Bollman, Susan Purviance

2000 Raymond F. Jackson, William P. Mies

1999 Mary G. Ormson, Debra Boardley

1998 Michael Phillips, Kathleen Ferguson

1997 Martha Carroll

1996 Patricia Hoover, Dennis Bowling

1995 Ted McHugh, Barb Roberston (Snavely)

1994 Steven Kramer

1993 Krzysztof Cios, Amos Patterson

1992 Jon Steingass, Dorothy Petee

1991 Mary Sue Cave, Dottie Welch

1990 Thelma Fernades

1989 Fred Andrews

1988 Robert Schlembach

1987 Al Grande

1986 Jim Larson




Last Updated: 5/11/20