Office of the Provost

UToledo Faculty Mentoring Award

The UToledo Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes a faculty member who has made significant contributions to faculty success through faculty mentoring. Mentoring can take several forms including advice on professionalism, feedback and guidance on teaching, service and research, career coaching and even how to improve work and life balance.

Up to two faculty recipients will be recognized each year. Award winners will receive a signed certificate and a cash award of $1,000.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nominees must be full-time current UToledo faculty members.
  • Nominees should have served as a faculty mentor, in a formal or informal capacity to one or more junior or mid-career .faculty over a continuous period of at least three or more years.
  • This award may only be awarded once to a faculty member.

Faculty Mentoring Award Nomination Form is closed.


Selection Criteria

  • An overall record of mentoring of faculty.
  • Sustained commitment to the mentoring of faculty that results in the personal and professional development of the mentee.
  • Demonstration of the creation of a supportive environment where faculty can grow and openly share challenges and successes.
  • Maintaining high standards as a role model for their mentee as an engaged member of the university community.
  • Involvement of mentees in scholarship, creative activity, or sharing other campus and professional opportunities for leadership.

Nomination Procedures

Submit a completed nomination form available here, letter of support and a maximum of TWO additional letters. Letters can be solicited from past or present mentees of the nominee, the nominee's department chair, the nominee's dean, or other appropriate individuals. Letters should directly address criteria for the award and should not exceed two pages each.

All application materials should be submitted through the online application.

All nominee materials will be reviewed by a selection committee and evaluated based on the designated criteria with a recommendation being made to the provost.

For further information please contact Dr. Scott Molitor,  Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at

PAST Faculty Mentoring Award RECIPIENTS

2022  Dr. Eileen Walsh, Associate Dean of Research, Director Honors Program, College of Nursing

2021  Dr.  Alessandro Arsie, Professor & Associate Chair,  Department of Mathematics & Statistics, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

2020  Dr. Maria Coleman, Professor and  Department Chair of Chemical Engineering in the College of Engineering, and Associate Director of the Polymer Institute.  

Last Updated: 3/7/23