UToledo Professional Staff Association


The award will recognize a current member of the Professional Staff Association who displays an outstanding commitment to professional staff at The University of Toledo. The honoree will be a member of the Professional Staff Association and will demonstrate exemplary support, advocacy, and service to professional staff at The University of Toledo, which can include but not limited to:

  • Service on University of Toledo committees representing the interests of professional staff
  • Past membership on Professional Staff Council* (Current members of the Professional Staff Council and retirees are not eligible to receive this award)
  • Current or past membership on Professional Staff Association committees
  • Engagement in campus and community events that strengthen the presence of professional staff on campus.
  • The University of Toledo’s positive impact on the neighboring community, the City of Toledo, and Northwest Ohio.
  • Demonstration of pride and promotion of The University of Toledo and its endeavors

The award is named for past UT President Frank Horton, who in 1992 was instrumental in establishing the PSA as an officially recognized organization on campus. The main purpose of the PSA is to serve all professional staff as a sounding board for ideas and pool of resources and act as a conduit to enhance communication between the President’s office and professional staff.

Past Recipients

2019: Joely Giammarco
Senior Business Manager, Office of the Provost

2018: Cathy Zimmer (page 3)
Director of Academic and Curricular Initiatives, Office of the Provost

2017: Don Curtis (page 14)
Enterprise Business Systems Automation Developer - Information Technology

Nomination Process

The nomination period  is now closed. The nomination process will re-open in March 2021.

Nominations are closed

Once the nominations have closed, Professional Staff Council members will identify five (5) nominees for the award at the PSC Council meeting on May. PSA members will then select their top candidate for the award through electronic vote. The voting period will open after the PSC Council meeting. The nominee who receives the most votes will be announced as the recipient of the Frank E. Horton Professional Staff Association Award at the PSA Annual Meeting. Members of the Professional Staff Council, as well as members of the Professional Staff Association, can be found on the Professional Staff Association website.

*Nominees will be notified to accept their nominations. Acceptance will include a completed response questionnaire which will be used in the selection of finalists.

Last Updated: 6/27/22