Jesup Scott Honors College

Jesup Scott Honors College Directory

honors logoOffice Location: MacKinnon Hall 2000


Phone: 419.530.6030

Fax: 419.530.6032

Email: honors@utoledo.edu

Mail Stop: 504


ADMINISTRATION

Appel Heidi M. Appel, Ph.D.
Dean
MacKinnon Hall 2000C
419.530.6033
Heidi.Appel@utoledo.edu
 Peseckis  Dr. Steven M. Peseckis
 Associate Dean
 MacKinnon Hall 2000E
 419.530.6039
 steven.peseckis@utoledo.edu
 Sally Gretthers

 Sally Grether
 Executive Assistant
 MacKinnon Hall 2000D
 MS 504
 419.530.6031
 sally.grether@utoledo.edu

Josh Martin

 Josh Martin, M.A.
 Assistant Director of Student Services
 Scott Hall 0127
 419.530.6180
 
joshua.martin2@utoledo.edu

 McKissic  Nykolas McKissic
 JSHC & OUR Graduate Assistant
 Scott Hall 0119
 419.530.2983
 nykolas.mckissic@utoledo.edu

 

SUCCESS COACHES

 Bell

 

Malaika Bell, M.A.
Success Coach
Scott Hall 0129
419.530.6066
malaika-beauta.bell@utoledo.edu

Malaika Bell has been a Success Coach for The University of Toledo’s Jesup Scott Honors College since the birth of the initiative in the fall of 2013, and loving  every moment of it. She was born in Toledo, but spent 8 years (as a child) living in Los Angeles, California. She is a two-time graduate of UT, receiving her Master’s in Sociology in 2004. Since that time, Malaika worked as an Eligibility Specialist II for Lucas County Job & Family Services, while teaching U.S. Diversity for Owens Community College.  She currently teaches Africana Studies for The University of Toledo as an adjunct instructor. Malaika has served as the faculty advisor for the Association for the Advancement of African American Women for the past 3 academic years. Her study and service abroad include travel to Belgium, France, Benin, Nigeria, and Guatemala. Malaika’s passion for improving self-confidence of young people led to the research and development of a program to increase one’s level of GRIT; the sustained passion for and persistence toward achieving long term goals. She will be implementing this pilot program as an after-school initiative for the Community HUB site; Pickett Academy. In her spare time, you can find Malaika schlepping her two beautiful daughters to their many extra-curricular activities.

 Jones

 

Aleiah Jones, M.A.
Success Coach 
Scott Hall 0133
419.530.6054
aleiah.jones@utoledo.edu

Aleiah Jones, M.A. is a 2013 graduate from The University of Toledo’s College of Languages, Literature and Social Sciences in Sociology. She is a first generation Latina graduate who was born and raised in Toledo, Ohio. After graduating she served on the administrative staff at Adelante Inc., the Latino and Community Resource Center, providing grant management and program development. Her passion for working with college students is being fulfilled in her position as a Success Coach with the Jesup Scott Honors College at UT, and while being an advisor for both the Latino Student Union and Rocket Recess. She has also enjoyed teaching at both UT and Owens Community College.  Her research interests include: religion, gender, sexuality, race/ethnicity, politics and qualitative methods. Aleiah has traveled abroad serving on work teams in Chile and Nicaragua. She is actively involved in the Toledo community; serving as the President for the UT Latino Alumni Affiliate, a member of groups such as the Latino Alliance, Young Latino Professionals of Toledo and the Association of Latino Faculty and Staff as well as other social and professional groups. When she has some free time you can find her curled up reading a good book or watching a documentary.

 Willis

 

Gentry Willis, MOL
Success Coach 
Scott Hall 0131
419.530.6179
gentry.willis@utoledo.edu

Gentry Willis, native of Toledo, Ohio, serves as a Success Coach in the Jesup Scott Honors College. She has over 17 years’ experience in higher education working in Career Services and Admissions. Gentry received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Bowling Green State University and Master of Organizational Leadership from Lourdes University.

 

 Eric Gullufsen

 

Eric Gullufsen, M.A.
Success Coach 
Scott Hall 0125
419.530.2786
eric.gullufsen2@utoledo.edu

Eric Gullufsen has been part of the Success Coaching team at UT and the Jesup Scott Honors College since 2017. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communication from Bowling Green State University and a Master of Arts in Organizational Management from Bluffton University. Eric enjoys spending time with his family and reading, and prides himself on being uninteresting. Also...Eric may or may not be Batman.

FACULTY

 Armstrong   Dr. Page Armstrong
Lecturer and Director, Honors Learning Community
MacKinnon Hall 1370
419.530.6059
page.armstrong@utoledo.edu
    Dr. Larry Connin
Administrative Coordinator, Associate Director of Undergraduate Research
MacKinnon Hall 1010D
419.530.6037
larry.connin@utoledo.edu
 Mann   Dr. Barbara Mann
Professor of Humanities
MacKinnon Hall 1340A
419.530.2402
barbara.mann@utoledo.edu
 Pryor   Dr. Ashley Pryor
Associate Professor of Humanities
MacKinnon Hall 1010C
419.530.2635
ashley.pryor@utoledo.edu
 Sheldon   Dr. Glenn Sheldon
Professor of Humanities
MacKinnon Hall 1010F
419.530.3261
glenn.sheldon@utoledo.edu
 Mary Templin  

Dr. Mary Templin
Associate Lecturer
MacKinnon Hall 1010E
419.530.6038
mary.templin@utoledo.edu

Last Updated: 4/21/17