Engineering Technology

Faculty and Staff

Computer Science Engineering Technology/Information Technology

Full-Time faculty

Photo of Jared Oluoch

Jared Oluoch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Acting Chair
CSET/IT Program Director

Office: NE 1613
Phone: 419.530.3272
E-mail: jared.oluoch@utoledo.edu

 

Photo of Weiqing Sun

Weiqing Sun Ph.D.

Professor and Program Director of Master's Programs in Cyber Security
Office: NE 1627
Phone: 419.530.3273
E-mail: weiqing.sun@utoledo.edu

Website

Master's Programs in Cyber Security
Ph.D., Computer Science, Stony Brook University, 2008
M.S., Computer Science, Stony Brook University, 2004
M.E., Computer Science, Tongji University, China, 2001
B.E., Computer Science, Tongji University, China, 1998

Research Interests: Computer Security (Focus: Malware Defense), Security Policy Development & Operating Systems Security, Intrusion Detection, Web Security & Virtual Machine Techniques.

Photo of Hong Wang

Hong Wang, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: NE 1625
Phone : 419.530.3214
E-mail: hong.wang2@utoledo.edu

Website
Ph.D., Computer Science, Kent State University, 2006
M.S., Computer Science, Kent State University, 2002
B.S., Biology, Lanzhou University, China, 1990

Research Interests: Data Science & Analytics and Computer Science Education

scott brahaney photo

Scott Brahaney

Assistant Lecturer
 Office: NE 1616
 Phone: 419.530.3215
 E-mail: scott.brahaney@utoledo.edu

Photo of Robert Langenderfer

Robert Langenderfer, Ph.D.

Assistant Lecturer
 Office: NE 1632
 Phone: 419.530.3264
 E-mail: robert.langenderfer@utoledo.edu

Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering, University of Toledo, 2023

M.S., Engineering Science, University of Toledo, 1991
B.S., Computer Science and Engineering, University of Toledo, 1987

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Quantum Computing, Robotics

Part-Time Faculty

Don Miller
Office: NE 1626
Phone: 419.530.3181

E-mail: donald.miller2@utoledo.edu

Dominic Wilson
Office: NE 1626
Phone: 419.530.3181
E-mail: dominic.wilson2@utoledo.edu

Construction Engineering Technology

Full-Time Faculty

Photo of Luis Mata

Luis Mata, Ph.D., P.E., Leed A.P.

Assistant Professor and CET Program Director
 Office: NE 1615
 Phone: 419.530.3167
 E-mail: luis.mata@utoledo.edu

Website
Ph.D., Civil Engineering, North Carolina State University, 2008
M.S., Civil Engineering, North Carolina State University, 2005
B.S., Civil Engineering, Andrés Bello Catholic University, Venezuela, 2002
P.E., Professional Engineer (Ohio, Michigan, North Carolina)

part-time faculty

Hussein Abounaaj
Office: NE 1633
Phone: 419.530.3381
E-mail: hussein.abounaaj@utoledo.edu

Joshua Belknap
Office: NE 1628
Phone: 419.530.3828
E-mail: joshua.belknap@utoledo.edu

Phillip Lagger
Office: NE 1628
Phone: 419.530.3828
E-mail: phillip.lagger@utoledo.edu

Phil Ledent
Office: NE 1626
Phone: 419.530.3181
E-mail: philippe.ledent@utoledo.edu

Heidi Reger
Office: NE 1628
Phone: 419.530.3828
E-mail: heidi.reger@utoledo.edu

Electrical Engineering Technology

Full-Time Faculty

Photo of Nasser Alaraje Department Chair

Abdulnasser Alaraje, Ph.D.

 Professor and Department Chair
 Office: NE 1605
 Phone: 419.530.3129
 E-mail: abdulnasser.alaraje@utoledo.edu

Website

Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, Ohio State University, 2005
M.S., Electrical Engineering, Ohio State University, 1996
B.S., Electrical Engineering, Jordan University of Science & Technology, 1990

Photo of William Evans

W. Ted Evans, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor and EET Program Director
Office: NE 1607
Phone: 419.530.3349
Cell: 419.343.3681  

E-mail: william.evans@utoledo.edu

Website
Ph.D., Industrial Engineering, University of Toledo, 2005
M.S., Electrical Engineering, The University of Toledo, 1975
B.S., Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, 1971
P.E., Professional Engineer (Ohio)

Teaching Expertise: Programmable Logic Controllers, Control Engineering, Automation

Photo of Ngalula Mubenga

Ngalula S. Mubenga, Ph.D., P.E.

Assistant Professor
Office: NE 1624
Phone: 419.530.3896
E-mail: Ngalula.Mubenga@utoledo.edu

Website

Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, The University of Toledo, 2017
M.S., Electrical Engineering, The University of Toledo, 2008
B.S.,  Electrical Engineering, The University of Toledo, 2005
P.E., Professional Engineer (Ohio)

Research Interests: Power systems, battery energy storage, renewable energy systems, electric vehicles, and energy efficiency.

Experience: Power Systems, solar photovoltaic systems design and integration, distribution planning & protection, and energy management.

Part-Time faculty

James Burke
Office: NE 1633
Phone: 419.530.3381
E-mail: james.gonya@utoledo.edu

Josh Peeno
Office: NE 1626
Phone: 419.530.3181
E-mail: joshua.peeno@utoledo.edu

Merl Creps
Office: NE 1631
Phone: 419.530.3268
E-mail: merl.creps@utoledo.edu

Mechanical Engineering Technology

Full-Time Faculty

Photo of Amy Bian

Amy H. Bian, Ph.D.

Assistant Lecturer and MET Program Director
Office: NE 1609
Phone: 419.530.3377
E-mail: Hongxin.Bian@UToledo.Edu

Website
Ph.D. Engineering Science & Mechanics, Pennsylvania State University
M. Eng. Engineering Mechanics, Tianjin University
B. Eng. , Engineering Mechanics, Tianjin University
Teaching Expertise: Structural Dynamics, Solid Mechanics, Finite Element Methods, and Nondestructive Evaluation (NDE)

Photo of Carmen Cioc

Carmen Cioc, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: NE 1621
Phone : 419.530.3017
E-mail: carmen.cioc2@utoledo.edu

Website
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, The University of Toledo, 2004
M.S. Physics, The University of Toledo, 2012
M.S. Aerospace Engineering, The Polytechnic Institute of Bucharest, Romania, 1992

Research Interests: Engineering Education, Applied Thermal Sciences, Tribology, and Alternative Energy.

Photo of Cyrus Hagigat

Cyrus Hagigat

Professor
Office: NE 1637
Phone: 419.530.3271
E-mail: cyrus.hagigat@utoledo.edu

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Case Western Reserve University
M.S. Computer Science, Central Michigan University
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Akron
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Maryland
P.E., Professional Engineer (Ohio)

Research Interest: Application of Computers in Engineering

photo of Qiuying Zhao

Qiuying Zhao, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: NE 1618
Phone: 419.530.3239
E-mail: qiuying.zhao@utoledo.edu

Website
Ph.D. Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering,  The University of Toledo, 2012
M.S. Computational Engineering, Mississippi State University, 2009
M.S. Fluid Machinery and Engineering, Beihang University, 2005
B.S. Power Engineering,  Northwestern Polytechnical University, 2002

 Research Interest: Wind Turbine Design and Simulation, Active Flow Control, Higher-Order Schemes, and Turbulence Modeling

Abid Alhayani, Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: NE 1635
Phone: 419.530.3165
E-mail: abid.alhayani@utoledo.edu

Bilal Sarsour, Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: NE 1630
Phone: 419.530.3541
E-mail: bilal.sarsour@utoledo.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Joe Caruso
Office: NE 1622
Phone: 419.530.3244
E-mail: joseph.caruso@utoledo.edu

John Jaegly
Office:  NI 1084A
Phone: 419.530.8242
E-mail: john.jaegly@utoledo.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Photo of James Kamm

James L. Kamm, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email:
james.kamm@utoledo.edu

 

Photo of Richard Springman

Richard Springman

Professor Emeritus
Office: NE 1623
Phone : 419.530.3276
E-mail:
richard.springman@utoledo.edu

Website
M.S.M.E., The Ohio State University, 1972
B.M.E., The Ohio State University, 1970

Research Interest: Forensic Investigations, HVAC Applications, Thermodynamics/Heat Transfer

Staff

Photo of Myrna Rudder

Myrna Rudder

Associate Director of Department Student Services
Office: NE 1612
Phone: 419.530.3062
Fax: 419.530.3068
E-mail: myrna.rudder@utoledo.edu

Picture of Darlene Stevens

Darlene Stevens

Assistant Director of Department Student Services
Office: NI 5051D
Phone: 419.530.8078
Fax: 419.530.8076
E-mail: darlene.stevens@utoledo.edu

Hillary Hoffman

Hillary Hoffman

Secretary I
NI 1600
Phone: 419.530.8273
Fax: 419.530.3068
E-mail: hillary.hoffman@utoledo.edu

Last Updated: 7/15/24