University Libraries

About the Library

Exterior view of Mulford Library Building

Who can use the Mulford Library?

Although our primary users are University faculty, residents, staff, and students, anyone is welcome to come in and use the Library for healthcare research.

  • Computers are available for healthcare research and education only. The Library reserves the right to restrict priority use to University faculty, residents, staff, and students at any time. Printing is restricted to University faculty, residents, staff, and students.
  • To check out circulating materials, community members can borrow materials with a Toledo Lucas County Public Library card or a State Library of Ohio card.

Getting to the Mulford Library

The Mulford Health Science Library is located on the University of Toledo Health Science Campus. To get to campus:

  • From I-75/475 Northbound or US 23/475 Southbound. Use Exit 8 (Airport Highway, State Route 2). Proceed east on Airport Highway 3.5 miles to Byrne Road. Turn right on Byrne Road; proceed to Arlington Avenue (first traffic signal). Turn left on Arlington. Park in the visitors lot immediately behind the University Medical Center (Lot 40) or, continuing down Arlington, in Lot 44.
  • From I-75 Southbound. Use exit 201A (Maumee/U.S. 25) to Anthony Wayne Trail; turn right on Glendale Avenue and proceed west to the campus entrance drive. Follow the signs to parking lot 44. (Visitors can also park in Lot 40)
  • From Ohio Turnpike, East or Westbound. Use Exit 59 Maumee. Proceed north 1 mile on Reynolds Road (U.S. 20) to Glendale Avenue; turn right on Glendale Avenue; proceed 2.5 miles to campus entrance on left. Follow the signs to parking lot 44. (Visitors can also park in Lot 40)

More in depth directions are provided from the campus information web page here The Mulford Health Science Library is on the fourth floor of the Mulford Library Building.

History of the Raymon H. Mulford Library

The Raymon H. Mulford Library has its beginnings in 1967 with the hiring of Ronald M. Watterson, MSLS, founding librarian. Mr. Watterson and a small staff organized the first Medical College of Ohio Library at the William Roche Memorial Hospital on South Detroit Avenue, Toledo, Ohio. Dr. Robert G. Page, Dean of the School of Medicine, Dr. Liberato J. A. DiDio, Chairman, Dept. of Anatomy, Dr. William Easson, Chairman, Dept. of Psychiatry, Mr. Harold Bloomquist (consultant, Francis Countway Library, Harvard University), and Mr. Watterson were appointed to the Library Building Committee, communicating their vision of the future structure to the architects. The building was designed by Don M. Hisaka and Associates, Architects.

Ground breaking for the library building took place on January 11, 1973. Estimated at a pre-construction cost of $6 million, it was the second building constructed on the Medical College of Ohio campus. The Library was dedicated on May 15, 1975. Dr. Richard Ruppert, then a member of the Ohio Board of Regents, was the speaker. The Mulford Library was featured in the Mid-August 1975 issue of Architectural Record, pages 74-77. The issue focused on engineering for architecture, and included a feature citing "12 Examples of Effective Architect-Engineer Collaboration." The execution of the architectural plan was hailed by the Record as "Bravaura Performance Lends Glamour to a Concrete Structure." It was also highlighted in the August 1975 issue of the Architectural Record, pages 86-89, in the article, "Three Bold and Under Budget Buildings by Don Hisaka."

The Library is named for Raymon H. Mulford, a former president of Owens-Illinois (1961-1968) who led the Toledo company during the era of its largest financial growth. In addition to being a skilled businessman, Mr. Mulford was a local and national civic leader who served as vice-president of the National Cystic Fibrosis Research Foundation. He was a trustee of the National Center for Voluntary Action during Richard Nixon's presidency and locally showed interest in understanding the problems faced by the chronically unemployed.

Mr. Watterson retired in August, 1990, and was honored by the Medical College of Ohio in 1991 when he was named Librarian Emeritus. At that time the Special Collections Room on the fourth floor of the Library was renamed in his memory. Mr. Watterson is remembered for his role in the design of the MCO flag, the MCO seal, MCO trustee robes, and the Dominick Labino glass mace that was used at MCO graduation ceremonies. Mr. Watterson died in 1993. Dr. Liberato J. A. DiDio served as the Acting Director after Watterson's retirement until David W. Boilard was hired as Library Director in 1991.  Mr. Boilard was succeeded by Marlene Porter and the current Director, Jolene Miller. 

Since 1997, the Library has begun its evolution toward a digital environment. Today, the Mulford Library offers access to 1000+ full-text electronic textbooks and nearly 10,000 electronic journals, has an active education service and web-based services including the internationally recognized, "Instructions to Authors" page. In 1993, the Mulford Library became a founding member of OhioLINK, a statewide consortium of public and private universities and colleges. The OhioLINK consortium provides access to nearly 50 million monographic titles (10 million unique titles; including the collections of six other Ohio medical school libraries), over 150 research databases, millions of electronic journal articles, patron-initiated borrowing of book materials, and free interlibrary loans.

In July 2006, when the Medical University of Ohio merged with the University of Toledo to become the new University of Toledo, the Mulford Health Science Library became part of the University of Toledo Libraries

Last Updated: 6/27/22