Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Teaching Center Task Force Archived Information

 Teaching Center TASK FORCE CHARGE

The Teaching Center Task Force was convened in AY 2020-21 to:

  • Review evidence-based best practices and peer institution models of teaching and learning centers and develop vision for UToledo center for teaching excellence that will position us well to advance faculty and student success
  • Develop proposal for an integrative, innovative, high-impact teaching center and affiliated programs at the University of Toledo
  • Support implementation of approved model

The Task Force was transitioned  into standing advisory committee  at the start of AY 2021.

In May 2021, the Task Force submitted a proposal to re-envision the Teaching Center with a new mission and vision.

PROPOSED MISSION FOR THE UTOLEDO CENTER FOR Equity and Excellence in TEACHING & LEARNING (CEETL)

In support of the educational mission of the university, CEETL is a catalyst for the advancement of evidence-based, equity-minded, student-centered teaching and learning at the University of Toledo. We create and nurture collaborative spaces for all members of the campus teaching community to utilize high-impact pedagogical techniques, engage in thoughtful conversations about teaching and learning, and pursue a scholarly approach to teaching excellence. CEETL partners with all our constituencies to foster a culture that values and rewards teaching excellence, respects and supports individual differences, and creates learning environments where diverse students and instructors can excel.

Proposed Vision –CEETL will:

  • Play an integral role in institutional efforts to improve student success and equity through excellence in teaching and learning
  • Encourage the use of innovative, evidence-based, equitable and student-centered approaches to teaching and learning
  • Build partnerships with academic units and colleges to encourage collaboration and increase the scope of our impact on teaching and learning
  • Inspire the increased use and valuing of the scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Provide resources to support excellence in all aspects of teaching and learning
  • Create a collaborative, engaged, and committed community of learners dedicated to excellence in teaching and learning
  • Develop a campus network of leaders supporting excellence in teaching and learning at the University of Toledo
  • Become regional leaders on excellence in teaching and learning

Please see here for more information on the key dimensions of centers for teaching and learning.

Faculty Development Needs Assessment Survey

During spring 2021, the Teaching Center Task Force completed a needs assessment survey of over 480 instructors from across campus, including graduate student instructors, part-time instructors, lecturers, tenure-track and tenured faculty, and academic administrators, in order to inform the proposal for the future of the Teaching Center and support for teaching excellence at UToledo. Results from this needs assessment were summarized in the Campus Dialogue presentation discussed below.

Campus Dialogues

The Teaching Center Task Force led a series of Campus Dialogues in May 2021 to (1) provide an overview of the Teaching Center Task Force work, (2) share results from our recent survey of faculty development needs in support of effective teaching, and (3) receive feedback on a preliminary model for the future of the UToledo Teaching Center. We sought to provide effective support and resources for all instructors on campus, including our staff who teach courses, and used the dialogues as an opportunity to discuss instructor needs and task force work. 

You can access a copy of the Campus Dialogues presentation here

Teaching Center Task Force Members

First Name Last Name Position(s) at UToledo E-mail
Rachel Barnes

Instructional Designer &  Coordinator for Quality Assurance; UToledo Online

rachel.barnes@utoledo.edu
Denise Bartell Task Force Co-Chair & Associate Vice Provost for Student Success; Provost Office denise.bartell@utoledo.edu
Malaika Bell

Africana Studies,  Director; Office of Diversity and Inclusion

malaika-beauta.bell@utoledo.edu
Carmen Cioc Associate Professor; College of Engineering carmen.cioc2@utoledo.edu
Kari Dilworth Success Coach & Program Manager, Center for Success Coaching; Department of Applied Organizational Technical Instructor kari.dilworth@utoledo.edu
Joan  Duggan Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Development, Associate Dean for Professionalism; College of Medicine and Life Sciences  joan.duggan@utoledo.edu
Kevin Egan Associate Professor; Department of Economics, College of Arts and Letters kevin.egan@utoledo.edu
David Giovannucci

Professor, Department of Medical Education, College of Medicine and  Life Sciences 

David.Giovannucci@utoledo.edu 
Jeanne Kusina

Task Force Co-Chair & Distinguished University Lecturer,  Department of Women's and Gender Studies; College of Arts and Letters

jeanne.kusina@utoledo.edu
Ting Li ESL Curriculum Coordinator/Instructor; American Language Institute; Center for International Studies and Programs ting.li@utoledo.edu
Christopher Martin Associate Professor;  Philosophy & Religious Studies, College of Arts and Letters christopher.martin5@utoledo.edu
Susanne Nonekowski Distinguished University Lecturer, Clinical Professor of Medicinal & Biological Chemistry; College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences susanne.nonekowski@utoledo.edu
James Oberlander Instructor; College of Nursing james.oberlander2@utoledo.edu
Melissa Oddo Program Manager; Provost Office melissa.oddo@utoledo.edu
Michael Prior Task Force Co-Chair & Associate Professor of Social Work; School of Social Justice, College of Health and Human Services michael.prior@utoledo.edu
Ashley Pryor

Task Force Co-Chair & Associate Professor; The Jesup Scott Honors College

ashley.pryor@utoledo.edu
David Sherman PhD Candidate, Teaching Assistant, School of Exercise & Rehabilitation Services; College of Health and Human Services David.sherman2@rockets.utoledo.edu
Jessica Swan Instructor; Department of Educational Studies, Judith Herb College of Education jessica.swan@rockets.utoledo.edu
Heather Tessler Director, Office of Student Services; College of Health and Human Services heather.tessler@utoledo.edu
 
Last Updated: 6/21/22