Honors & Awards

Distinguished University Professorship Awarded
Dr. Sarit Bhaduri received this prestigious rank in 2017. Dr. Bhaduri is currently researching and developing "Next Generation" biomaterials for orthopedic and dental applications. Dr. Bhaduri is a mentoring professor within E-CORE and the PI for numerous projects funded by the NSF I/UCRC grant for the Center for Disruptive Musculoskeletal Innovations (CDMI). The CDMI partners student trainees, PIs and Industry members to collaborate on selected projects. See Dr. Bhaduri write-up from UT provost here.

American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) Establishes Goel Award
The ASB established the Goel award this past August. This award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the translational biomechanics research, entrepreneurship, and societal benefit. This award is named after Dr. Vijay Goel, the ASB Borelli Award winner in 2014 and will be given annually to an ASB member. Recipients of the award will receive $1,000 and an engraved plaque. This award is open to all ASB members excluding officers and committees members.

ASB Fellow Status Bestowed
Dr. Vijay K. Goel was elected to fellow status in the American Society of Biomechanics (ASB). This appointment will be recognized at the 40th anniversary ASB meeting in Raleigh, NC.

ASB 2012 Student Travel Award
Ata Kiapour received the 2012 Student Travel Award from the American Society of Biometrics (ASB) at 2012 annual meeting (15th-18th August, Gainesville, FL) for the following submission:
"Knee Articular Cartilage Pressure Distribution under Single- and Multi-Axis Loading Conditions: Implications for ACL Injury Mechanism”

Force and Motion Foundation 2012 Winter Travel Award
Ata Kiapour received the 2012 Winter Travel Scholarship by Force and Motion Foundation for the following submission:
"A Novel Technique to Simulate Landing Biomechanics: a Cadaveric Model of ACL Injury"
The Force and Motion Academic Scholarship, made possible by funds from AMTI, is awarded to assist promising graduate students in fields related to multi-axis force measurement and testing. Scholarships will be offered on a competitive basis; applications will be judged by the Force and Motion Foundation’s review board based on quality, scientific contribution, and innovation.

Ohio Orthopaedic Society 2012 Top Paper Award
The following submission received the Top Paper Award at the Ohio Orthopaedic Society (OOS) 2012 annual meeting (May 10th-11th, Dublin, OH):
"Multi-faceted Methodological Modeling to Define the Mechanisms of ACL Injury"

ACSM 2012 Best Student Research Award
Ata Kiapour received the 2012 Best Student Research Award from the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), Biomechanics Interest Group (BIG) for the following submission:
"Coupled Valgus Collapse due to Internal Rotation: An Important Factor in the ACL injury Mechanism"
This award recognizes exemplar achievements by promising young scientists in the field of biomechanics. The BIG Awards Committee selects Awardees based upon the scientific quality of the submitted materials.

Orthopaedic Biomechanics (Joint Mechanics and Injury Mechanics)
Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Bone Biology 
Clinical Evaluation (retrospective and prospective clinical studies)
Assistive Technologies
Ongoing Projects

Last Updated: 6/27/22