Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

The Industrial Advisory Board

About the board

The Industry Advisory Board (IAB) provides support and guidance to the EECS Department from the perspective of industry leaders. EECS graduates represent our principal product and the IAB represents our customers. As such, the IAB provides valuable advice to EECS regarding the changing needs of industry and the engineering profession. IAB also provides suggestions for strengthening ties with industry in order to promote industry-academia interaction, joint collaboration and research, and technology transfer. 

IAB members are to be selected by EECS faculty, although input and nominations from continuing IAB members is welcome. Members are to be drawn principally from local industry. Members should be leaders in their profession and should have demonstrated a strong interest in the department.

Meetings are normally held annually on a work day during the October to November time frame, and start around 6 pm and end at around 8 pm.  Occasionally a second meeting may be held sometime in late March to April time frame if needs dictate it.

The department seeks input on undergraduate and graduation educational programs, faculty recruitment, research activities, research dissemination to industry, industry recruitment of students, alumni and industry outreach events, and others.

Current Members of the iab

      Name       Company       Title     Area
Joe Coutuier SSOE Group
1001 Madison Ave.
Toledo, OH 43604
Section Manager EE
John Estell Ohio Northern University
525 South Main St.
Ada, OH 45810
Professor of Computer Engineering and Computer Science CSE
Steve Goldberg Matrix Technologies
1760 Indian Wood Circle
Maumee, OH 43537
Director of Industrial Systems CSE
Vicki Kurtz Trelleborg Applied Technology
4750 W. Bancroft Ave.
Toledo, OH 43615
Vice President CSE
Ed McConnell SSOE Group
1001 Madison Ave.
Toledo, OH 43604
Master Engineer, Senior Associate (Retired) EE
Chris Melkonian PCB Piezotronics, Inc.
Monroe, MI 48162
Director of MEMS Engineering EE
Thomas Miller Ford Motor Company, Automotive Safety Office, Fairlane Plaza South
330 Town Center Dr.
Dearborn, MI 48126
Product Development Engineer EE
John Mossing Mossing CS, LLC
5135 Pearson Rd.
Wright Patterson, OH 45433
Chief Scientist CSE
Mike Orra KBR
601 Jefferson St.
Houston, TX 77002
Principal Scientist CSE
Steve Root
American Electric Power
209 N. Wood St.
Fostoria, OH 44830
Region Support Manager EE
Ken Switzer Marco's Franchising, LLC
5252 Monroe St.
Toledo, OH 43623
Vice President, CFO (Retired) CSE
Bill Swonger Electronic Concepts & Engineering, Inc.
1306 Kittle Rd.
Holland, OH 43528
President, Engineering Fellow EE
Sarah Tipler NASA Glenn Research Center
21000 Brookpark Rd.
Cleveland, OH 44135
Computer Scientist CSE
Carol Wedding Trelleborg Applied Technology
4750 W. Bancroft Ave.
Toledo, OH 43615
General Manager EE
Don Wedding DKW Analytics, LLC
Streetsboro, OH 44241
President EE
David (Yue) Zhao ARM Ltd.
3075 W. Ray Road, Suite 500
Chandler, AZ 85226
Principal Engineer EE
Last Updated: 6/27/22