Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Current Students  

Brooke Ring Brooke Ring
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: Laura Mike, Ph.D.
Email: Brooke.Ring@rockets.utoledo.edu
Iluja Gautam

Iluja Gautam, B.Tech.
Ph.D. Student

Project: "Role of platelets in immunity against respiratory paramyxovirus infections"
Advisor:  Randall Worth, Ph.D.
Email: Iluja.Gautam@rockets.utoledo.edu

Jessica Jiron

Jessica Jiron
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: Tomoaki Ogino, Ph.D.
Email:Jessica.Jiron@rockets.utoledo.edu

John Presloid

John Presloid, M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email: John.Presloid@utoledo.edu

Joshua Breidenbach Joshua Breidenbach, B.S., M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Microcystin-LR Aerosol Inhalation Exposure and Airway Inflammation"

Advisor:  David Kennedy, Ph.D., Steven Haller, Ph.D.
Email: Joshua.Breidenbach@rockets.utoledo.edu
Justin Franco Justin Franco, B.S.
M.D./Ph.D. Student
Project: "An examination of the antiviral properties of Retinoic Acid (RA) treatment during coronavirus infection"

Advisor: Kevin Pan, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Franco@rockets.utoledo.edu
Kelli DeVanna Kelli DeVanna, B.S.
MSBS Student
Project: "Inducers of the Vibrio cholerae Phage Shock Protein Response"

Advisor: Jyl Matson, Ph.D.
Email: Kelli.Devanna@rockets.utoledo.edu
Kelly Morgan Kelly Morgan, B.S.
MSBS Student
Project: "Assessing Factor H-Fc fusion proteins for controlling Burkholderia Pseudomallei infection"

Advisor: R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email: Kelly.Morgan2@rockets.utoledo.edu
Matthew Hathaway

Matthew Hathaway
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: Matthew.Hathaway@rockets.utoledo.edu

Mir Himayet Kabir Mir Himayet Kabir, B.Sc., M.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Dissection of antiviral host responses to the vector-borne flaviviruses"

Advisor: Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: MirHimayet.Kabir@rockets.utoledo.edu
Ryan Harris Ryan Harris, B.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Mechanism of host restriction of vector-borne flaviviruses"

Advisor: Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: Ryan.Harris5@rockets.utoledo.edu
Saroj Khadka

Saroj Khadka
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: Laura Mike, Ph.D.
Email: Saroj.Khadka@rockets.utoledo.edu

Shumin Fan

Shumin Fan, B.B.A., M.S.A., M.S.
M.D./Ph.D. Student

Project: "Interferon regulatory factors in host defense"
Advisor: Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.
Email: Shumin.Fan@rockets.utoledo.edu

SS Menon 

Smrithi S Menon, M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Determination of how Factor H protects Trypanosoma cruzi from the alternative pathway of complement"
Advisor: Viviana P. Ferreira, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Email: Smrithi.SugumaranMenon@rockets.utoledo.edu

SC 

Sukanya Chakravarty, B.Sc, M.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "The role of IRF3 in viral inflammation"
Advisor: Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.
Email: Sukanya.Chakravarty@rockets.utoledo.edu

Upasana Shrestha

Upasana Shrestha
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD
Advisor: Jason Huntley, Ph.D.
Email: Upasana.Shrestha@rockets.utoledo.edu

Lab Coat Ceremonies

 11th Annual  Biomedical Science Lab Coat Ceremony (2021)

Lab Coat Ceremony

Click here for more photos

The Tenth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (Virtual) (2020)
LabCoat2020

The Ninth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2019)
2019 Lab Coat Ceremony

The Eighth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2018)

2018 LC

The Seventh Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2017)

 LCC 2017

The Sixth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2016)      The Fifth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2015)
2016     2015   


Departmental Events

                 2016 Retreat                                         2015 Research Forum

2016 MMI Retreat      2015 Research Forum

                  2013 Holiday Party                               2012 Holiday Party

2013 Holiday Party     2012 Holiday Party

Return to Medical Microbiology and Immunology Page


Last Updated: 5/19/22