Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Current Students  

Lad Apurva Lad, B.S., M.S.
Ph.D. Student

Project: "Chronic low-dose exposure to Microcystin-LR exacerbates hepatic injury in a murine model of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease"
Advisor: David Kennedy, Ph.D., Steven Haller, Ph.D.
Email: Apurva.Lad@rockets.utoledo.edu
Iluja Gautam

Iluja Gautam, B.Tech.
Ph.D. Student

Project: "Role of platelets in infectious diseases"
Advisor:  Randall Worth, Ph.D.
Email: Iluja.Gautam@rockets.utoledo.edu

Irum Syed

Irum Syed, B.S.
Ph.D. Student

Project: "Identification and characterization of a factor H binding protein in Burkholderia pseudomallei"
Advisor:  R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email: Irum.Syed@rockets.utoledo.edu

Joshua Breidenbach Joshua Breidenbach, B.S., M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Microcystin-LR Aerosol Inhalation Exposure and Airway Inhalation"

Advisor:  David Kennedy, Ph.D., Steven Haller, Ph.D.
Email: Joshua.Breidenbach@rockets.utoledo.edu
Justin Franco Justin Franco, B.S.
M.D./Ph.D. Student
Project: "An examination of the antiviral properties of Retinoic Acid (RA) treatment during coronavirus infection"

Advisor: Kevin Pan, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Franco@rockets.utoledo.edu
Kelli DeVanna Kelli DeVanna, B.S.
MSBS Student
Project: TBD

Advisor: Jyl Matson, Ph.D.
Email: Kelli.Devanna@rockets.utoledo.edu
Kelly Morgan Kelly Morgan, B.S.
MSBS Student
Project: TBD

Advisor: R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email: Kelly.Morgan2@rockets.utoledo.edu
Mir Himayet Kabir Mir Himayet Kabir, B.Sc., M.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: TBD

Advisor: Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: MirHimayet.Kabir@rockets.utoledo.edu
Ryan Harris Ryan Harris, B.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Mechanism of host restriction of vector-borne flaviviruses"

Advisor: Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: Ryan.Harris5@rockets.utoledo.edu
 Moore

Sara Moore, B.S.
M.D./Ph.D. Student
Project: "The role of properdin, a positive regulator of the complement system, in disease"
Advisor: Viviana P. Ferreira, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Email: Sara.Moore@rockets.utoledo.edu

Shumin Fan

Shumin Fan, B.B.A., M.S.A., M.S.
M.D./Ph.D. Student

Project: "Regulation of virus-induced inflammation"
Advisor: Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.
Email: Shumin.Fan@rockets.utoledo.edu

SS Menon 

Smrithi S Menon, M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "The role of complement in host/pathogen interactions"
Advisor: Viviana P. Ferreira, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Email: Smrithi.SugumaranMenon@rockets.utoledo.edu

SC 

Sukanya Chakravarty, B.Sc, M.Sc.
Ph.D. Student
Project: "Novel functions of the interferon system to control innate immune responses"
Advisor: Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.
Email: Sukanya.Chakravarty@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

 

Lab Coat Ceremonies

The Tenth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (Virtual) (2020)
LabCoat2020

The Ninth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2019)
2019 Lab Coat Ceremony

The Eighth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2018)

2018 LC

The Seventh Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2017)

 LCC 2017

The Sixth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2016)      The Fifth Annual Lab Coat Ceremony (2015)
2016     2015   


Departmental Events

                 2016 Retreat                                         2015 Research Forum

2016 MMI Retreat      2015 Research Forum

                  2013 Holiday Party                               2012 Holiday Party

2013 Holiday Party     2012 Holiday Party

Return to Medical Microbiology and Immunology Page


Determining the Role of Antimicrobial Peptides in Vibrio cholerae  Viruluence Gene Expression
The efficacy of retinoic acid (RA) as a treatment for viral induced sepsis
Last Updated: 8/3/21