Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Welcome

/med/depts/

Additional Information

Contact Us

Health Science Campus
Health Education Building
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Room 229, MS1021
Office: 419-383-4323
Fax: 419-383-3002 Microbiology.Immunology@utoledo.edu

Current Students  

Adam Blatt, Ph.D Student

Adam Blatt, B.S.
Project:  Role of complement regulatory proteins properdin and factor H in the formation of platelet/leukocyte aggregates
Advisor:  Dr. Viviana Ferreira, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Email: Adam.Blatt@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Adaeze Izuogu, B.Sc.
Project: Virus-specific innate immunity to vector-borne flaviviruses 
Advisor: Dr. Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email:  Adaeze.Izuogu@rockets.utoledo.edu

Brian Youseff

Brian H. Youseff, B.S.
Project: "Investigation of the host Innate Immune Response to Flaviviruses"
Advisor: Dr. Travis Taylor, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Youseff@rockets.utoledo.edu

Caitlin Baum, M.D., Ph.D. Student

Caitlin Baum, B.S.
Project: “The role of IL-21 in chronic transplant rejection”
Advisor: Dr. Stanislaw Stepkowski, Ph.D.
Email: Caitlin.Baum@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Dulat Bekbolsynov

Dulat Bekbolsynov, B.S.
Project: Determinants of anti-HLA antibody cytotoxicity in sensitized patients waiting for kidney transplant
Advisor: Stanislaw Stepkowski, Ph.D.
E-mail: Dulat.Bekbolsynov@utoledo.edu

 M Moledina

Muhammed Saad Moledina, B. Pharm
Project:  Role of phagocytes and spirochete-specific antibodies in mediating Borrelia burgdorferi clearance
Advisor:  Dr. R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email:  MuhammedSaad.Moledina@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Alison Brandel Alison Brandel, B.S.
Project:  Identification and Characterization of Lake Erie Bacteria that Degrade the Microcystin Toxin
Advisor:  Dr. Jason F. Huntley, Ph.D.
Email:  Alison.Brandel@rockets.utoledo.edu
Sekar

Padmapriya Sekar, Ph.D.
Project: The Effects of Key Motility and Chemotaxis Genes on Borrelia burgdorferi Dissemination and Evasion of Immune Clearance in Murine Tissues
Advisor:  Dr. R. Mark Wooten, Ph.D.
Email:  Padmapriya.Sekar@utoledo.edu

Xiaojun "Wilma" Wu

Xiaojun "Wilma" Wu, B.S., M.S.
Project: "Identification of Francisella tularensis outer membrane virulence factors"
Advisor: Dr. Jason F. Huntley, Ph.D.
Email: Xiaojun.Wu@rockets.utoledo.edu

Leah W

Leah Wuescher, Ph.D.
Project: "Antimicrobial role of platelets in S. aureus infection"
Advisor: Dr. Randall Worth, Ph.D.
Email: Leah.Wuescher@utoledo.edu

Cara Cara DeAngelis, B.A.
Project: "Characterization of the Phage shock protein response in Vibrio cholerae"
Advisor: Dr. Jyl Matson, Ph.D.
Email: Cara.DeAngelis@utoledo.edu
   
   
   

























































































































































Antimicrobial role of platelets in S. aureus infection

Last Updated: 2/10/16