Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology Award & Scholarship

Earl H. Freimer Scholarship
A scholarship issued from an endowed fund established in the name of Earl H. Freimer that helps support M.D./Ph.D. students carrying out their research in the Medical Microbiology and Immunology Track (formerly Infection, Immunity & Transplantation).

Excellence in Microbiology & Immunology Award
An award was established in 1984 by the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology from the Robert A. Stranahan Endowed Chair fund to recognize the student that achieved the highest grade in the Immunity and Infectious Disease block. With the change in curriculum, this block has now been split into two systems, one teaching Immunology and the second teaching all aspects of Infectious Disease. Thus, the award has been split into separate awards for each topic.

  • Excellence in Immunity Award:
    The Immunity course covers all of the aspects of Immunology, including the mechanisms that allow killing of infectious agents and cancerous growths, those involved in organ transplantation, and those that can become dysregulated to cause disease, such as allergies and asthma. This award is issued at graduation to the medical student who performed the best in the Immunity course during the first year in the curriculum.
  • Excellence in Infectious Disease Award:
    The Infectious Disease course covers all of the aspects of microbes that can cause infectious disease, including viruses, bacteria, fungi and eukaryotic pathogens, as well as the therapies and vaccines used to treat and prevent these diseases. This award is issued at graduation to the medical student who performed the best in the Infectious Disease course during the first year in the curriculum.

MMI Graduate Student Research Scholar Award (MMIRSA)
This award was established to encourage and increase MMI graduate student publications and pre-doctoral fellowship submissions. The Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology established the MMIRSA, including a formal certificate and a $250 bonus, to MMI Track MSBS or Ph.D. students who have a first-author research manuscript accepted/published before their defense or have a pre-doctoral fellowship funded before their defense.  Pre-doctoral fellowships should be externally-funded with graduate student stipends and be at least one year in length. Students may receive this award only once in the MMI graduate program.

Earl H. Freimer Scholarship
(MD/Ph.D. Students)       


Excellence in Microbiology & Immunology 
(M.D. Students)

  MMI Graduate Student Research Scholar Award (MMIRSA)

Established 2020
  • Sara Moore (PI: Dr. Viviana Ferreira) (2022)
  • Hallie Dolin (PI: Dr. Kevin Pan) (2020)
  • Claire Meikle (PI: Dr. Randall Worth) (2018)
  • Brian Youseff (PI: Dr. Travis Taylor) (2017)
  • Adam Blatt (PI: Dr. Viviana Ferreira) (2015)
  • Paul Schroder (PI: Dr. Stanislaw Stepkowski) (2013)


  • Christine Lu (Infectious Disease - 2021)
  • Alexander DiScenna (Immunity - 2021)
  • Nicholas Moses (2017)
  • Amanda Kitson (2016)
  • Adam Blatt (2015)
  • Cody Johnson (2014)
  • Jeffery Iler  ( 2013)
  • James Bomer  (2012)
  • Amber Young (2011)
  • Jill Tseng (2010)
  • Shelley Godley (2009)
  • Brett Williams (2008)
  • Ricky Medel (2007)
  • I-Tysr Shaw (2007)
  • Alison Robinette (2006)
  • Katherine Steingass (2006)
  • Gregory Lowe (2005)
  • Jennifer Muszynski (2004)
  • Craig Shank (2004)
  • Matthew Rudloff (2003)
  • Kelley Kazor (2003)
  • Nicole Forteir (2002)
  • Orlando Gutierrez (2002)
  • Mindy Jan (2001)
  • Patricia C. Lee (2001)
  • Kristin M. Kudley (2000)
  • Rohit S. Satoskar (2000)
  • Gregory D. Seidel (2000)
  • David J. Hamrock (1999)
  • James A. Kontak (1999)
  • Keegan M. Lyons (1998)
  • Michael D. Reep (1997)
  • Colleen J. Murray (1997)
  • Susan Passalaqua (1996)
  • Jeremy A. Benedetti (1996)
  • Michael D. Murphy, Jr. (1995)
  • Paul J. Arpasi (1994)
  • Connie S. Ingalls (1994)
  • Rodney C. Garber (1993)
  • Derek L. Reinke (1993)
  • Kymberly Gyure (1992)
  • Steven Sokoloski (1991)
  • Scott G. Lilly (1990)
  • Jannette Collins (1989)
  • James J. Sferra, Jr. (1988)
  • Matthew Bunyard (1987)
  • Susan A. Gregory (1986)
  • Martin Freimer (1985)
  • Peter Thomas Walsh (1985)
  • Nancy Jean Phillips (1984)
  • Sukanya Chakravarty (PI: Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay) (2021)
  • Shumin Fan (PI: Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay) (2021)
  • Joshua Breidenbach (PIs: Dr. David Kennedy &
    Dr. Steven Haller (2021)
  • Apurva Lad (PIs: Dr. David Kennedy &
    Dr. Steven Haller (2021)
  • Anna Glanz (PI: Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay) (2020)
  • Gayatri Subramanian (PI: Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay) (2020)

Return to Medical Microbiology & Immunology

Last Updated: 6/27/22