Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

University Teaching Advisory Council

The inaugural Teaching Center Advisory Council was convened in August 2021, as a transition from the Teaching Center Task Force. This standing committee is charged with supporting the work of the Center and ensuring that Center efforts to provide support for teaching excellence are aligned with the Center Mission and Vision. This work includes supporting the creation of strategic priorities and plans for the Center that are in alignment with evidence-based, innovative and high impact practices; supporting the ongoing assessment of Center efforts and instructor needs from a continuous improvement approach; and providing key support for the development and implementation of Center programs and initiatives. 

The Advisory Council is populated via staggered, 2-year appointments, with representation from the following core constituencies: (a) graduate instructors, (b) part-time instructors, (c) lecturers, (d) tenure-track/tenured faculty, and (e) representation from a diverse array of colleges, including the College of Medicine. 

ADVISORY COUNCIL MEMBERS

First Name Last Name Position(s) at UToledo E-mail
Jeanne Kusina

Interim Director, University Teaching Center

Distinguished University Lecturer,  Department of Women's and Gender Studies; College of Arts and Letters

jeanne.kusina@utoledo.edu
Rachel Barnes

Instructional Designer &  Coordinator for Quality Assurance; UToledo Online

rachel.barnes@utoledo.edu
Denise Bartell Advisory Council Co-Chair & Associate Vice Provost for Student Success; Provost Office denise.bartell@utoledo.edu
Malaika Bell

Africana Studies,  Interim Executive Director; Office of Diversity and Inclusion

malaika-beauta.bell@utoledo.edu
Carmen Cioc Associate Professor; College of Engineering carmen.cioc2@utoledo.edu
Kari Dilworth Success Coach & Program Manager, Center for Success Coaching; Department of Applied Organizational Technical Instructor kari.dilworth@utoledo.edu
Joan  Duggan Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Development, Associate Dean for Professionalism; College of Medicine and Life Sciences  joan.duggan@utoledo.edu
Kevin Egan Associate Professor; Department of Economics, College of Arts and Letters kevin.egan@utoledo.edu
David Giovannucci

Professor, Department of Medical Education, College of Medicine and  Life Sciences 

David.Giovannucci@utoledo.edu 
Ting Li ESL Curriculum Coordinator/Instructor; American Language Institute; Center for International Studies and Programs ting.li@utoledo.edu
Christopher Martin Associate Professor;  Philosophy & Religious Studies, College of Arts and Letters christopher.martin5@utoledo.edu
Susanne Nonekowski Distinguished University Lecturer, Clinical Professor of Medicinal & Biological Chemistry; College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences susanne.nonekowski@utoledo.edu
James Oberlander Instructor; College of Nursing james.oberlander2@utoledo.edu
Melissa Oddo Program Manager; Provost Office melissa.oddo@utoledo.edu
Michael Prior Associate Professor of Social Work; School of Social Justice, College of Health and Human Services michael.prior@utoledo.edu
Ashley Pryor

Associate Professor; The Jesup Scott Honors College

ashley.pryor@utoledo.edu
David Sherman PhD Candidate, Teaching Assistant, School of Exercise & Rehabilitation Services; College of Health and Human Services David.sherman2@rockets.utoledo.edu
Jessica Swan Instructor; Department of Educational Studies, Judith Herb College of Education jessica.swan@rockets.utoledo.edu
Heather Tessler Director, Office of Student Services; College of Health and Human Services heather.tessler@utoledo.edu
 View Archived Information on the 2020-21 Teaching Center Task Force 
Last Updated: 6/21/22