Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

MEET THE MEMBERS OF OUR DEPARTMENT:

The faculty and staff in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry are dedicated to educating students in the classroom and in the laboratory. For these efforts, they have won numerous awards, view past awardees.

Jump to section:
 

Faculty Member:

Area(s) of Research:

Andreana Peter R. Andreana, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
School of Green Chemistry & Engineering
Peter.Andreana@utoledo.edu
WO 2232B
419.530.1930
Chemical Biology, Green Chemistry & Synthetic Chemistry
Bellizzi John J. Bellizzi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
John.Bellizzi@utoledo.edu
WO 4203B
419.530.5926
Biochemistry & X-Ray Crystallography
Bigioni Terry Bigioni, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Terry.Bigioni@utoledo.edu
WO 2272
419.530.4095
Physical, Nanomaterials & Photovoltaics
Findsen Eric Findsen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Eric.Findsen@utoledo.edu
WO 2278
419.530.1506
Biophysical & Analytical
Gionfriddo Emanuela Gionfriddo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Emanuela.Gionfriddo@utoledo.edu
WO 2268
419.530.1508
Analytical Chemistry & Chemical Separations
Hu Xiche Hu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Xiche.Hu@utoledo.edu
WO 2277
419.530.1513
Biophysical & Computational Chemistry
Isailovic Dragan Isailovic, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Dragan.Isailovic@utoledo.edu
BO 1086F
419.530.5523
Bioanalytical, Mass Spectrometry & Single-Cell Analysis
Karunarathne Ajith Karunarathne, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Ajith.Karunarathne@utoledo.edu
BO 2098A/B
419.530.7880
Analytical, Bioanalytical & Microscopy
Kirchhoff Jon Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor and Chair,
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jon.Kirchhoff@utoledo.edu
WO 2265
419.530.1515
Analytical, Bioanalytical & Biosensors
Li Wei Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Wei.Li@utoledo.edu
WO 3269
419.530.1507
Organic, Organometallic & Medicinal Chemistry
Lind-Kovacs Cora Lind-Kovacs, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Cora.Lind@utoledo.edu
WO 2262
419.530.1505
Inorganic, Materials & X-Ray Crystallography
Mason Mark R. Mason, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Director, School of Green Chemistry
& Engineering
Mark.Mason5@utoledo.edu
WO 3260
419.530.1532
Inorganic, Organometallic Chemistry & Green Chemistry
Mueser Timothy C. Mueser, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Timothy.Mueser@utoledo.edu
WO 4211
419.530.1510
Biochemistry & Macromolecular Crystallography
Schmidt Joseph A. R. Schmidt, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Joseph.Schmidt@utoledo.edu
WO 3277
419.530.1512
Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
Sucheck Steven J. Sucheck, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Steve.Sucheck@utoledo.edu
WO 3276
419.530.1504
Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
Wohlever Matthew Wohlever, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Matthew.Wohlever@utoledo.edu
WO 3210B
419.530.8401
Biochemistry
Young Michael Young, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michael.Young8@utoledo.edu
WO 3266B
419.530.1524
Organic, Inorganic & Green Chemistry
Zhu Jianglong Zhu, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jianglong.Zhu@utoledo.edu
WO 3265
419.530.1501
 Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
 BACK TO TOP    
 

LECTURERS:

 
Cohen Claire T. Cohen, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Claire.Cohen@utoledo.edu
BO 2096H
419.530.4071
 
Coleman Nate Coleman, Jr., Ph.D.
Assistant Lecturer
Nathaniel.ColemanJr@utoledo.edu
BO 2086H
419.530.2566
 
Mock Kristi Mock, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Kristi.Mock@utoledo.edu
BO 2086F
419.530.4080
 
Toole Amy Toole, Ph.D.
Assistant Lecturer
Amy.Toole@utoledo.edu
BO 2086G
419.530.1503
 
Dr. Zhurova Elizabeth A. Zhurova, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Elizabeth.Zhurova@utoledo.edu
BO 2096G
419.530.4087
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

VISITING ASSISTANT
PROFESSORS:

 
Dr. Paik Amy Paik, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Amy.Paik@utoledo.edu
BO 2036
419.530.4592
 
Dr. Tun Zin-Min Tun, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
ZinMin.Tun@utoledo.edu
BO 2034
419.530.4591
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

RESEARCH FACULTY:

 

Kim Yong-Wah Kim, Ph.D.
Chemical Instrumentation Supervisor
Director, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)
Facility
Yong-Wah.Kim@utoledo.edu
BO 187
419.530.2563
 
Kirschbaum Kristin Kirschbaum, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director, NSM Instrumentation Center
Kristin.Kirschbaum@utoledo.edu
BO 187
419.530.2563
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

EMERITUS FACULTY:

YEAR:

Dr. Jorgensen Andy Jorgensen 2017
Dr. Viola Ron Viola 2017
Dr. Pinkerton Alan Pinkerton 2014
Dr. Funk Max Funk 2013
  Jimmie Edwards 1999
  James L. Fry 1999
  James E. Gano 1999
  Bob Niedzielski 1993
  Gordon Parker 1992
  Frank Walmsky 1987
 BACK TO TOP    
 

ADJUNCT FACULTY:

ORGANIZATION/LAB:

  Courtney Aldrich University of Minnesota, MN
  Joanna Beres University of Findlay, OH
  Daniel Berger Bluffton University, OH
  Julian Chen Los Alamos National Laboratory, NM
  Alvin Compaan UToledo, Physics (photovoltaics)
  Joseph Cotruvo Joseph Cotruvo & Assoc., LLC; USEPA (retired)
  J. David Dignam UToledo, Cancer Biology
  Dan Dransfield Epizyme, MA
  Allen Edmundson Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
  Mary Jackson Colorado State University
  Andrey Kovalevsky Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Paul Langan Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Ernie Lippert American Glass Research (AGR)
  Chris Senanayake CEO, AstaTech (Chengdu)
BACK TO TOP     
Last Updated: 2/18/20