Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

MEET THE MEMBERS OF OUR DEPARTMENT:


The faculty and staff in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry are dedicated to educating students in the classroom and in the laboratory. For these efforts, they have won numerous awards, view past awardees.

 

Faculty Member:

Area(s) of Research:

Andreana

Peter R. Andreana, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
School of Green Chemistry & Engineering
Peter.Andreana@utoledo.edu
WO 2232B | 419.530.1930

View Dr. Andreana's Publications

Chemical Biology, Green Chemistry & Synthetic Chemistry
Bellizzi

John J. Bellizzi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
John.Bellizzi@utoledo.edu
WO 4203B | 419.530.5926

View Dr. Bellizzi's Publications

Biochemistry & X-Ray Crystallography
Bigioni

Terry Bigioni, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Terry.Bigioni@utoledo.edu
WO 2272 | 419.530.4095

View Dr. Bigioni's Publications

Physical, Nanomaterials & Photovoltaics
Findsen

Eric Findsen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Eric.Findsen@utoledo.edu
WO 2278 | 419.530.1506

View Dr. Findsen's Publications

Biophysical & Analytical
Gionfriddo

Emanuela Gionfriddo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Emanuela.Gionfriddo@utoledo.edu
BO 2007E | 419.530.1508

View Dr. Gionfriddo's Publications

Analytical Chemistry & Chemical Separations
Hu

Xiche Hu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Xiche.Hu@utoledo.edu
WO 2277 | 419.530.1513

View Dr. Hu's Publications

Biophysical & Computational Chemistry
Isailovic

Dragan Isailovic, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Dragan.Isailovic@utoledo.edu
BO 1086F | 419.530.5523

View Dr. Isailovic's Publications

Bioanalytical, Mass Spectrometry & Single-Cell Analysis
Karunarathne

Ajith Karunarathne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Ajith.Karunarathne@utoledo.edu
BO 2098A/B | 419.530.7880

View Dr. Karunarathne's Publications

Analytical, Bioanalytical & Microscopy
Kirchhoff

Jon Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor and Chair,
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jon.Kirchhoff@utoledo.edu
WO 2265 | 419.530.1515

View Dr. Kirchhoff's Publications

Analytical, Bioanalytical & Biosensors
Li

Wei Li, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Wei.Li@utoledo.edu
WO 3269 | 419.530.1507

View Dr. Li's Publications

Organic, Organometallic & Medicinal Chemistry
Lind-Kovacs

Cora Lind-Kovacs, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Chair, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Cora.Lind@utoledo.edu
WO 2262 | 419.530.1505

View Dr. Lind-Kovacs' Publications

Inorganic, Materials & X-Ray Crystallography
Marszewski

Michal Marszewski, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michal.Marszewski@utoledo.edu
WO 2256 | 419.530.1585

View Dr. Marszewski's Publications

Nanomaterials, Fuel Sources & On-The-Go Energy Supply
Mason

Mark R. Mason, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Mark.Mason5@utoledo.edu
WO 3260 | 419.530.1532

View Dr. Mason's Publications

Inorganic, Organometallic Chemistry & Green Chemistry
Mueser

Timothy C. Mueser, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Timothy.Mueser@utoledo.edu
WO 4211 | 419.530.1510

View Dr. Mueser's Publications

Biochemistry & Macromolecular Crystallography
Schmidt

Joseph A. R. Schmidt, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Joseph.Schmidt@utoledo.edu
WO 3277 | 419.530.1512

View Dr. Schmidt's Publications

Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
Sucheck

Steven J. Sucheck, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Steve.Sucheck@utoledo.edu
WO 3276 | 419.530.1504

View Dr. Sucheck's Publications

Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
Wohlever

Matthew Wohlever, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Matthew.Wohlever@utoledo.edu
WO 3210B | 419.530.8401

View Dr. Wohlever's Publications

Biochemistry
Young

Michael Young, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michael.Young8@utoledo.edu
WO 3266B | 419.530.1524

View Dr. Young's Publications

Organic, Inorganic & Green Chemistry
Zhu

Jianglong Zhu, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jianglong.Zhu@utoledo.edu
WO 3265 | 419.530.1501

View Dr. Zhu's Publications

 Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
 BACK TO TOP    
 

LECTURERS:

 
Cohen Claire T. Cohen, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Claire.Cohen@utoledo.edu
BO 2096H | 419.530.4071
 
Coleman Nate Coleman, Jr., Ph.D.
Assistant Lecturer
Nathaniel.ColemanJr@utoledo.edu
BO 2086H | 419.530.2566
 
Mock Kristi Mock, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Kristi.Mock@utoledo.edu
BO 2086F | 419.530.4080
 
Toole Amy Toole, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Amy.Toole@utoledo.edu
BO 2086G | 419.530.1503
 
Dr. Zhurova Elizabeth A. Zhurova, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Elizabeth.Zhurova@utoledo.edu
BO 2096G | 419.530.4087
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

Joint Appointed Faculty

Schall

Constance Schall
Department of Chemical Engineering

View Dr. Schall's Publications

Bioseparations
Slama

James Slama
Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry

View Dr. Slama's Publications

Organic Chemistry
Tillekeratne

Liyanaaratchige Tillekeratne
Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry

View Dr. Tillekeratne's Publications

Total Synthesis of Natural Products
BACK TO TOP    
 

RESEARCH FACULTY:

 

Kirschbaum

Kristin Kirschbaum, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director, NSM Instrumentation Center
Kristin.Kirschbaum@utoledo.edu
BO 187 | 419.530.2563

View Dr. Kirschbaum's Publications

 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

EMERITUS FACULTY:

YEAR:

Dr. Jorgensen Andy Jorgensen 2017
Dr. Viola Ron Viola 2017
Dr. Pinkerton Alan Pinkerton 2014
Dr. Funk Max Funk 2013
  Jimmie Edwards 1999
  James L. Fry 1999
  James E. Gano 1999
  Gordon Parker 1992
  Frank Walmsky 1987
 BACK TO TOP    
 

AFFILIATED FACULTY & RESEARCHERS:

ORGANIZATION/LAB:

  Joanna Beres University of Findlay, OH
  Saurabh Chattopadhy UTMC, Virology
  Julian Chen Los Alamos National Laboratory, NM
  Joseph Cotruvo Joseph Cotruvo & Assoc., LLC; USEPA (retired)
  Eramus Cudjoe PerkinElmer Corporation
  J. David Dignam UToledo, Cancer Biology
  Dan Dransfield Epizyme, MA
  Allen Edmundson Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
  Andrey Kovalevsky Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Lopamudra Giri Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India
  Paul Langan Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Andrew Lees Fina Biosolutions LLC
  Ernie Lippert American Glass Research (AGR)
  William Messer UToledo, Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry
  Jeffrey Ohren Oceanside Bioscience, LLC
  John Payton Kenyon College, Ohio
  Chris Senanayake CEO, AstaTech (Chengdu)
  Bradley Wile Ohio Northern University
BACK TO TOP     
Last Updated: 6/27/22