Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

MEET THE MEMBERS OF OUR DEPARTMENT:


The faculty and staff in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry are dedicated to educating students in the classroom and in the laboratory. For these efforts, they have won numerous awards, view past awardees.

 

Faculty Member:

Area(s) of Research:

Andreana Peter R. Andreana, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
School of Green Chemistry & Engineering
Peter.Andreana@utoledo.edu
WO 2232B | 419.530.1930
Chemical Biology, Green Chemistry & Synthetic Chemistry
Bellizzi John J. Bellizzi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
John.Bellizzi@utoledo.edu
WO 4203B | 419.530.5926
Biochemistry & X-Ray Crystallography
Bigioni Terry Bigioni, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Terry.Bigioni@utoledo.edu
WO 2272 | 419.530.4095
Physical, Nanomaterials & Photovoltaics
Findsen Eric Findsen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Eric.Findsen@utoledo.edu
WO 2278 | 419.530.1506
Biophysical & Analytical
Gionfriddo Emanuela Gionfriddo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Emanuela.Gionfriddo@utoledo.edu
WO 2268 | 419.530.1508
Analytical Chemistry & Chemical Separations
Hu Xiche Hu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Xiche.Hu@utoledo.edu
WO 2277 | 419.530.1513
Biophysical & Computational Chemistry
Isailovic Dragan Isailovic, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Dragan.Isailovic@utoledo.edu
BO 1086F | 419.530.5523
Bioanalytical, Mass Spectrometry & Single-Cell Analysis
Karunarathne Ajith Karunarathne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Ajith.Karunarathne@utoledo.edu
BO 2098A/B | 419.530.7880
Analytical, Bioanalytical & Microscopy
Kirchhoff Jon Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor and Chair,
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jon.Kirchhoff@utoledo.edu
WO 2265 | 419.530.1515
Analytical, Bioanalytical & Biosensors
Li Wei Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Wei.Li@utoledo.edu
WO 3269 | 419.530.1507
Organic, Organometallic & Medicinal Chemistry
Lind-Kovacs Cora Lind-Kovacs, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Cora.Lind@utoledo.edu
WO 2262 | 419.530.1505
Inorganic, Materials & X-Ray Crystallography
Marszewski Michal Marszewski, Ph.D. (joining us, January 2021!)
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michal.Marszewski@utoledo.edu
WO 2256
Nanomaterials, Fuel Sources & On-The-Go Energy Supply
Mason Mark R. Mason, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Mark.Mason5@utoledo.edu
WO 3260 | 419.530.1532
Inorganic, Organometallic Chemistry & Green Chemistry
Mueser Timothy C. Mueser, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Timothy.Mueser@utoledo.edu
WO 4211 | 419.530.1510
Biochemistry & Macromolecular Crystallography
Schmidt Joseph A. R. Schmidt, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Joseph.Schmidt@utoledo.edu
WO 3277 | 419.530.1512
Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
Sucheck Steven J. Sucheck, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Steve.Sucheck@utoledo.edu
WO 3276 | 419.530.1504
Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
Wohlever Matthew Wohlever, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Matthew.Wohlever@utoledo.edu
WO 3210B | 419.530.8401
Biochemistry
Young Michael Young, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michael.Young8@utoledo.edu
WO 3266B | 419.530.1524
Organic, Inorganic & Green Chemistry
Zhu Jianglong Zhu, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jianglong.Zhu@utoledo.edu
WO 3265 | 419.530.1501
 Organic & Bioorganic Chemistry
 BACK TO TOP    
 

LECTURERS:

 
Cohen Claire T. Cohen, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Claire.Cohen@utoledo.edu
BO 2096H | 419.530.4071
 
Coleman Nate Coleman, Jr., Ph.D.
Assistant Lecturer
Nathaniel.ColemanJr@utoledo.edu
BO 2086H | 419.530.2566
 
Mock Kristi Mock, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Kristi.Mock@utoledo.edu
BO 2086F | 419.530.4080
 
Toole Amy Toole, Ph.D.
Assistant Lecturer
Amy.Toole@utoledo.edu
BO 2086G | 419.530.1503
 
Dr. Zhurova Elizabeth A. Zhurova, Ph.D.
Associate Lecturer
Elizabeth.Zhurova@utoledo.edu
BO 2096G | 419.530.4087
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

VISITING ASSISTANT
PROFESSORS:

 
Dr. Tun Zin-Min Tun, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
ZinMin.Tun@utoledo.edu
BO 2034 | 419.530.4591
 
BACK TO TOP    
 

Joint Appointed Faculty

Schall Constance Schall
Department of Chemical Engineering
Bioseparations
Slama James Slama
Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Tillekeratne Liyanaaratchige Tillekeratne
Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry
Total Synthesis of Natural Products
BACK TO TOP    
 

RESEARCH FACULTY:

 

  Pannee Burckel, Ph.D.
Pannee.Burckel@utoledo.edu
 
Gadient Jennifer Gadient, Ph.D.
Instrumentation Scientist
NSM Instrumentation Center
Jennifer.Gadient@utoledo.edu
BO 0226 | 416.530.7993
 
Gianopoulos Chris Gianopoulos, Ph.D.
Chris.Gianopoulos@utoledo.edu
 
Kim Yong-Wah Kim, Ph.D.
Chemical Instrumentation Supervisor
Director, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Facility
Yong-Wah.Kim@utoledo.edu
BO 187 | 419.530.2563 
Kirschbaum Kristin Kirschbaum, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director, NSM Instrumentation Center
Kristin.Kirschbaum@utoledo.edu
BO 187 | 419.530.2563
 
 BACK TO TOP    
 

EMERITUS FACULTY:

YEAR:

Dr. Jorgensen Andy Jorgensen 2017
Dr. Viola Ron Viola 2017
Dr. Pinkerton Alan Pinkerton 2014
Dr. Funk Max Funk 2013
  Jimmie Edwards 1999
  James L. Fry 1999
  James E. Gano 1999
  Bob Niedzielski 1993
  Gordon Parker 1992
  Frank Walmsky 1987
 BACK TO TOP    
 

AFFILIATED FACULTY & RESEARCHERS:

ORGANIZATION/LAB:

  Joanna Beres University of Findlay, OH
  Saurabh Chattopadhy UTMC, Virology
  Julian Chen Los Alamos National Laboratory, NM
  Joseph Cotruvo Joseph Cotruvo & Assoc., LLC; USEPA (retired)
  Eramus Cudjoe PerkinElmer Corporation
  J. David Dignam UToledo, Cancer Biology
  Dan Dransfield Epizyme, MA
  Allen Edmundson Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
  Andrey Kovalevsky Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Lopamudra Giri Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India
  Paul Langan Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  Andrew Lees Fina Biosolutions LLC
  Ernie Lippert American Glass Research (AGR)
  William Messer UToledo, Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry
  Jeffrey Ohren Oceanside Bioscience, LLC
  John Payton Kenyon College, Ohio
  Chris Senanayake CEO, AstaTech (Chengdu)
  Bradley Wile Ohio Northern University
BACK TO TOP     
Last Updated: 9/14/20