College of Health and Human Services

Content goes here.

Diversity, equity and inclusion

You belong here.

Diversity is a core value on our campus. 

The University of Toledo — and the College of Health and Human Services — is committed to creating an environment where every student, staff member and faculty member feels included and respected.

We welcome diverse ideas, thoughts and perspectives.

college diversity plan college diversity statement uToledo diversity plan

Career fair
Faculty commitment

Faculty members in our college conduct diversity presentations. They are committed to DEI in their research, mentorship and teaching. Research ranges from cross-racial interactions in counseling and the classroom to black mental health and more. 


Dr. Willie McKether speaking to UToledo employees
Student Organizations

Get involved in a variety of student groups. Learn leadership skills and network. Our academic programs embrace DEI in their own ways.

  • Physical therapy doctoral students have a multicultural leadership council.
  • Athletic training students are members of a student-run DEI committee. 
  • Fearless Writers is a mentoring program that connects local public high school students with UToledo students.
Black engineers working together

Underrepresented and minority students in the College of Health and Human Services have opportunities for:

  • Scholarships and grants
  • Fellowships
  • Mentorship programs

Dean's Diversity Advocacy Awards

These awards are presented annually to students, a staff member and faculty member who champion the advancement of diversity, equity and inclusion in health and human services.

2021 Recipients

Tulani Black won the 2021 Dean's Diversity Award

Tulani Black
Undergraduate Award

Dai'ja Banks won the 2021 Dean's Diversity Award

Dai’ja Banks
Graduate Award

George Thompson won the 2021 Dean's Diversity award

George Thompson
Staff Award

Louis Guardiolo won the 2021 Dean's Diversity Award

Louie Guardiola
Faculty Award


Inclusion Officer

Louis Guardiola, inclusion officer

Louis Guardiola, Jr., M.S.W.

Dean's Office Representative, Associate Dean for Diversity and  Inclusion, Associate Lecturer, Social Work


Diversity Committee Members

Sherry Tripepi

Sherry TripepiM.S.W., LISW-S

College Diversity Committee Chair
School of Social Justice Representative, Senior Lecturer,  Social Work


Julie Coyle

Julie Coyle, M.Ed., LSW

School of Population Health Representative, Senior Lecturer, Health Education


Dr. Amanda Murray

Amanda Murray, PT, D.P.T., Ph.D.

School of Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences Representative, Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy


Dr. Tanesha Walker

Tanesha Walker, Ph.D., LPC

School of Intervention and Wellness Representative, Assistant Professor, Counselor Education


Dr. Madeline Clark, diversity committee member

Madeline Clark, Ph.D., LPC(VA), NCC, ACS

Associate Professor, Counselor Education


Staci Sturdivant

Staff Member, Advisor, Student Services

Dorian S. Mundy

Graduate Student Representative, Doctoral Candidate in Health Education

Arukshita Goel

Undergraduate Student Representative, Senior graduating in May 2022, Major: Public Health and Biology

Leonardo Gomez

Undergraduate Student Representative, Senior graduating in May 2022, Major: Public Health 

Members at Large

Dr. Ann Carrellas

Ann Carrellas, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Assistant Professor, Social Work


Dr. Laura Schmelzer

Laura Schmelzer, Ph.D., OTR/L

Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy


Dr. Tavis J. Glassman

Tavis J. Glassman, Ph.D., M.S.Ed., M.P.H., MCHES, CCPH

Professor Health Education/Public Health


CHHS Diversity meeting minutes and annual summaries 

Last Updated: 6/27/22