Department of Cell and Cancer Biology

Department of Cell and Cancer Biology Faculty Profiles

Primary Faculty

 Ivana de la Serna, Ph.D.

Ivana de la Serna, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Epigenetics, Chromatin remodeling, Melanocyte development, Pigmentation, Melanoma
ivana.delaserna@utoledo.edu

 Kathryn M. Eisenmann, Ph.D.

Kathryn Eisenmann, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Cell and Cancer Biology
Associate Professor of Medical Education
Director, Human Blueprint System, Undergraduate Medical Education
Director, Thread 1, Undergraduate Medical System
Cytoskeleton dynamics in glioblastoma cancer cell invasion and tumor microtube networking; Glioblastoma tumor biobanking
kathryn.eisenmann@utoledo.edu

 dong

 

zizheng dong, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor
Translational regulation of gene expression in tumorigenesis
zizheng.dong@utoledo.edu

 Saori Furuta, Ph.D.

Saori Furuta, Ph.D.

Associate Professor  
Tumor microenvironment, Breast cancer, Immuno-Oncology, Metabolism and microbiome
saori.furuta@utoledo.edu

 Xiaohong Li

Xiaohong Li, Ph.D.

Associate Professor 
Director, Biomedical Sciences Program Cancer Biology track 
Tumor Microenvironment in Cancer Metastasis, Dormancy and Drug Resistance
xiaohong.li@utoledo.edu

 shi-he liu

Shi-He, Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Exosome engineering, Tumor and tumor microenvironment , Targeting drug delivery for efficient PDAC therapies/diagnosis
shi-he.liu@utoledo.edu

 Dayanidhi Raman, B.V.Sc., Ph.D.

Dayanidhi Raman, B.V.Sc., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Cancer stemness, Cancer metastasis, Drug resistance, Combination  chemotherapy, Immune checkpoint blockade, Novel drug analogs
dayanidhi.raman@utoledo.edu

 Kuo-Hui Su

Kuo-Hui Su, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Pancreatic cancer, Proteotoxic stress response, Lipid metabolism, Autophagy
kuo-hui.su@utoledo.edu

 Kam C. Yeung, Ph.D.

Kam C. Yeung, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Cancer signaling, GEM models for breast cancer, Mitotic check point control 
kam.yeung@utoledo.edu

 Jian-Ting Zhang, Ph.D.

Jian-Ting Zhang, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair
McMaster Endowed Chair of Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
Drug resistance, Drug discovery, Translational control, DNA repair
jianting.zhang@utoledo.edu

zou

Yue Zou, Ph.D.

Professor
DNA Repair, DNA damage response, Oncogenesis, Cancer chemotherapeutics, and Drug resistance
yue.zou@utoledo.edu


JOINT Faculty

 jingyuan liu

Jasmine JingYuan Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine & Bioengineering
Computational biology & bioinformatics, Structure based drug discovery/design, Drug resistance, Drug repurpose, Protein dynamics & function, X-Ray Crystallography, Biological Small Angle X-Ray Scattering
jingyuan.liu@utoledo.edu

 nagalakshmi nadiminty

Nagalakshmi Nadiminty, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Urology & Cancer Biology
Director of Academic Research, Dept. of Urology
Target discovery and Targeted therapeutics for urologic malignancies, Drug Resistance
nagalakshmi.nadiminty@utoledo.edu

 Amit Tiwari  

Amit K. Tiwari, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pharmacology, College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
Associate Professor of Cell and Cancer Biology, College of Medicine and Life Sciences College of Medicine & Life Sciences
Director of International Engagement
Development of multidrug resistance and Therapeutic approaches to overcome MDR
amit.tiwari@utoledo.edu

Robert J. Trumbly, Ph.D.

Robert J. Trumbly, Ph.D.

Director of Block 1, Medical Curriculum
Department of Medical Education
Bioinformatics, Transcriptional regulation in cancer, Pathway analysis in cancer
robert.trumbly@utoledo.edu

 james willey

James C. Willey, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pathology
George Isaac Chair in Cancer Biology
Director of Cancer Research Center
Medical College of Ohio, 1978
james.willey@utoledo.edu
Deborah Vestal, Ph.D.

Deborah Vestal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Ph.D., Syracuse University, 1988
deborah.vestal@utoledo.edu


Emeritus Faculty


Associate Dean for Graduate Education

Kandace J. Williams, Ph.D.

Kandace J. Williams, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean for College of Medicine & Life Sciences Graduate 
Professor of Cancer Biology
kandace.williams@utoledo.edu


Volunteer Faculty

Maurice Manning, Ph.D., D.Sc.

Maurice Manning, Ph.D., D.Sc.

Distinguished University Professor 
Ombudsman, The University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
maurice.manning@utoledo.edu

Last Updated: 3/2/22