College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research and Faculty

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has a stellar faculty that brings the latest research and technology to the classroom. They are committed to providing excellent student-centered instruction, along with the professional guidance that ensures our students' success. Faculty conduct research in a number of areas that impact patient care, including diabetes, kidney disease, cancer, Alzheimer's disease, cardiovascular disease and neurodegenerative disorders. Our faculty members are recognized authorities in their areas of specialization and conduct groundbreaking research that contributes to the development of new treatments and practices.


The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages undergraduate students to seek research opportunities with the College faculty members.



Faculty, listed by department

Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry

Kirchhoff, Jon R.
Messer, William S.
Nonekowski, Susanne T.
Peseckis, Steven M.
Prestwich, Erin G.
Pinkerton, A. Alan
Schiefer, Isaac T.
Shah, Zahoor, Department Vice-Chair
Slama, James T.
Tillekeratne, L.M. Viranga
von Grafenstein, Hermann
Wall, Katherine A., Department Chair

Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

AbouAlaiwi, Wissam
Hall, F. Scott
Liu, Ming-Cheh
Messer, William S.
Oyarce, Ana Maria
Sari, Youssef, Department Vice-Chair
Steinmiller, Caren
Tiwari, Amit K.
Williams, Frederick E., Department Chair          
von Grafenstein, Hermann

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Aldrich, Sarah
Baki, Gabriella
Churchwell, Mariann
Clemons, Marilee
Gyori, Derek
Holiday-Goodman, Monica
Howard, Mitchell S.
Kaun, Megan
Lengel, Aaron
Mauro, Laurie S.
Mauro, Vincent, Department Vice-Chair 
Murphy, Julie
Nesamony, Jerry
Ohlinger, Martin, Department Chair
Pattin, Anthony
Peeters, Michael
Petite, Sarah
Sahloff, Eric G.
Schmude, Kimberly
Schroeder, Michelle
Seegert, Michelle
Vaidya, Varun

Last Updated: 10/9/20