College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research and Faculty

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has a stellar faculty that brings the latest research and technology to the classroom. They are committed to providing excellent student-centered instruction, along with the professional guidance that ensures our students' success. Faculty conduct research in a number of areas that impact patient care, including diabetes, kidney disease, cancer, Alzheimer's disease, cardiovascular disease and neurodegenerative disorders. Our faculty members are recognized authorities in their areas of specialization and conduct groundbreaking research that contributes to the development of new treatments and practices.

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages undergraduate students to seek research opportunities with the College faculty members.

FACULTY, LISTED BY DEPARTMENT

 

Department Of Medicinal And Biological Chemistry

 

Faculty Member:

Area of Research:

  Ghassan M. Abushaikha, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
ghassan.abushaikha@utoledo.edu

Design, synthesis, and biological evaluation of small molecules in the fields of anticancer, antihyperlipidemia, and antiviral

  Paul W. Erhardt, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
paul.erhardt@utoledo.edu
Small molecule drug design, synthesis, biological screening, PK assessment and preclinical development of lead candidates
  John R. Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor
jon.kirchhoff@utoledo.edu
Development of modified electrodes and microelectrodes
  William S. Messer, Ph.D.
Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu
Development of new treatments for neurological disorders
  Susanne T. Nonekowski, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Lecturer
susanne.nonekowski@utoledo.edu
Novel teaching methods that use technology to support active learning
  Steven M. Peseckis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
steven.peseckis@utoledo.edu
Heterotrimeric G-protein mediated signal transduction
  Erin G. Prestwich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
erin.prestwich@utoledo.edu
 Pathophysiology of disease
  Isaac T. Schiefer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director, Center for Drug Design and Development (CD3)
Associate Director, Shimadzu Laboratory for Pharmaceutical Research Excellence
isaac.schiefer@utoledo.edu
Creating novel therapies for neurodegeneration, with an emphasis on Alzheimer's disease
  Zahoor Shah, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Research
Program Director Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry
Professor
zahoor.shah@utoledo.edu
Developing neuroprotective agents targeting neurodegeneration
  James T. Slama, Ph.D.
Director, BPSP Program
Professor

james.slama@utoledo.edu
Glycosidases, glycosyltransferases, nucleosidases, and ADP-ribosyl transferases
  L.M. Viranga Tillekeratne, D.Phil.
Professor
liyanaaratchige.tillekeratne@utoledo.edu
Synthesis and biological evaluation of anticancer agents
  Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu
Immunology and structural biochemistry
  Katherine A. Wall, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair
katharine.wall@utoledo.edu
T cell signaling and immunology, vaccines

 

Department Of Pharmacology And Experimental Therapeutics

 

FACULTY MEMBER:

AREA OF RESEARCH:

  Wissam AbouAlaiwi, M.Sc., Ph.D. Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA).
Associate Professor
wissam.aboualaiwi@utoledo.edu
Development of drugs and targets for polycystic kidney disease and cardiovascular disease and hypertension
  F. Scott Hall, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
frank.hall@utoledo.edu
Psychiatric disorders, addiction
  Shikha Kumari, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
shikha.kumari@utoledo.edu
In vivo probes for therapeutic intervention of targeted human diseases to discover better drugs compared to existing ones
  Ming-Cheh Liu, Ph.D.
Professor
ming.liu@utoledo.edu
Cytosolic sulfotransferases, drug metabolism
  William S. Messer, Ph.D.
Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu
Development of new treatments for neurological disorders 
  Ana Maria Oyarce, Ph.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
anamaria.oyarce@utoledo.edu
Effects of endocrine disruptors on neuropeptide processing, trafficking in neuroendocrine cells, dopamine beta-monooxygenase trafficking
  Youssef Sari, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Vice-Chair
youssef.sari@utoledo.edu
The role of glutamate transport in drug abuse
  Caren Steinmiller, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Lecturer
Clinical Professor
caren.steinmiller@utoledo.edu
Substance use disorders
  Amit K. Tiwari, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
amit.tiwari@utoledo.edu
Drug discovery, development and delivery
  Frederick E. Williams, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair
frederick.williams2@utoledo.edu
Zebrafish models of human disease, behavioral assessments
  Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu
Immunology and structural biochemistry

 

Department Of Pharmacy Practice

 

FACULTY MEMBER:

AREA OF RESEARCH:

  Sarah M. Aldrich, Pharm.D., BCACP
Assistant Lecturer
sarah.aldrich2@utoledo.edu
Population health, primary care chronic disease state management
  Curtis D. Black, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
curtis.black2@utoledo.edu
Development of innovative dosage forms and drug delivery systems to meet healthcare needs of patients
  Diane M. Cappelletty, Pharm.D.
Professor
diane.cappelletty@utoledo.edu
Infectious disease 
  Mariann Chuchwell, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP
Professor
marianne.churchwell@utoledo.edu
Physical compatibility of sodium citrate with different agents
  Marilee Clemons, Pharm.D., BCACP
Clinical Assistant Lecturer
Internal Medicine Pharmacist
marilee.clemons@utoledo.edu
 Ambulatory care, internal medicine
  Joan Erebor, Ph.D., PMP, CAPM, MPhil, BPharm
Visiting Assistant Professor
joan.erebor@utoledo.edu
Novel drug delivery systems for cancer therapy and chronic kidney disease, targeted nanocarrier formulations, natural product extraction for formulations
  Derek Gyori, Pharm.D., BCOP
Assistant Lecturer
derek.gyori@utoledo.edu
Oral and intravenous chemotherapy, immunotherapy
  Monica Holiday-Goodman, Ph.D., R.Ph.
Interim Dean
Professor
monica.holiday-goodman@utoledo.edu
 
  Mitchell S. Howard, Pharm.D., MBA, R.Ph., BCACP

Clinical Assistant Professor
Director, Honors College Program
Director, PGY1 Community-Based Residency Program
Director, PharmD/MBA Program

mitchell.howard@utoledo.edu
 
  Megan Kaun, Pharm.D., BCACP
Senior Lecturer
Director of Experiential Education
megan.kaun@utoledo.edu
 
  Aaron Lengel, Pharm.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
aaron.lengel@utoledo.edu
Impact of NTS on the community pharmacy team
  Julie Murphy, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FCCP
Associate Dean for Accreditation Compliance
Associate Professor
julie.murphy@utoledo.edu
Pharmacy services, improving patient outcomes
  Martin J. Ohlinger, Pharm.D., BCCCP, FCCM
Clinical Professor
Department Chair
martin.ohlinger@utoledo.edu
Clinical research related to critical care pharmacotherapy
  Anthony Pattin, Pharm.D.
Interim Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Professional Education
Associate Professor
anthony.pattin@utoledo.edu
Pharmacy-based immunizations and ethnic minority patients
  Michael Peeters, Pharm.D., Ph.D., FCCP, BCPS
Clinical Senior Lecturer
michael.peeters@utoledo.edu
Pharmacy education research
  Mary Powers, Ph.D., R.Ph.
Professor Emerita
mary.powers@utoledo.edu
 
  Eric G. Sahloff, Pharm.D.
Associate Professor
Chair, PharmD Recruitment and Admissions Committee
eric.sahloff@utoledo.edu
HIV/AIDS 
  Kimberly Schmude, Pharm.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
kimberly.schmude@utoledo.edu
 
  Michelle Schroeder, Pharm.D., R.Ph., BCACP, CDCES
Director of Assessment
Clinical Assistant Professor
michelle.mangan@utoledo.edu
Pharmacy practice, laboratory-based teaching and  assessment in the PharmD curriculum
  Michelle L. Seegert, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM
Clinical Associate Professor
Director of Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences
michelle.serres@utoledo.edu
 

 

Division Of Pharmaceutical And Policy Sciences

 

FACULTY MEMBER:

AREA OF RESEARCH:

  Gabriella Baki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of the BSPS Cosmetic Science and Formulation Design Program
gabriella.baki@utoledo.edu
Topical drug delivery, sunscreen formulation and testing
  Jerry Nesamony, Ph.D.
Professor
Director of the BSPS Pharmaceutics Program
Director of the MSPS Industrial Pharmacy Program
jerry.nesamony@utoledo.edu
Nonoparticulate and polymer based systems for drug delivery 
  Varun Vaidya, Ph.D.
College Advocate
Director of the BSPS Pharmacy Administration Program
Director of the MS in Health Outcomes and Socioeconomic Sciences
Professor
varun.vaidya@utoledo.edu
Gender disparities in flu vaccination, outcomes associated with treatments for chronic conditions
Last Updated: 10/7/21