College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research and Faculty

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has a stellar faculty that brings the latest research and technology to the classroom. They are committed to providing excellent student-centered instruction, along with the professional guidance that ensures our students' success. Faculty conduct research in a number of areas that impact patient care, including diabetes, kidney disease, cancer, Alzheimer's disease, cardiovascular disease and neurodegenerative disorders. Our faculty members are recognized authorities in their areas of specialization and conduct groundbreaking research that contributes to the development of new treatments and practices.

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages undergraduate, graduate, and Pharm.D. students to seek research opportunities with the College faculty members.

FACULTY, LISTED BY DEPARTMENT


department of medicinal and biological chemistry

Ghassan Abushaikha

Ghassan M. Abushaikha, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
ghassan.abushaikha@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Design, synthesis, and biological evaluation of small molecules in the fields of anticancer, antihyperlipidemia, and antiviral

Paul Erhardt

Paul W. Erhardt, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
paul.erhardt@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Small molecule drug design, synthesis, biological screening, PK assessment and preclinical development of lead candidates

Jon Kirchhoff

Jon R. Kirchhoff, Ph.D. 

Distinguished University Professor
jon.kirchhoff@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Development of modified electrodes and microelectrodes

William Messer

William S. Messer, Ph.D.

Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Development of new treatments for neurological disorders

Accepting students

Susanne Nonekowski

Susanne T. Nonekowski, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Lecturer
Clinical Professor
susanne.nonekowski@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Novel teaching methods that use technology to support active learning

Steven Peseckis

Steven M. Peseckis, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Director, Honors College Program
steven.peseckis@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Heterotrimeric G-protein mediated signal transduction

Erin Prestwich

Erin G. Prestwich, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
erin.prestwich@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

 

 

Area of Research

Pathophysiology of disease

Isaac Schiefer

Isaac T. Schiefer, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, Center for Drug Design and Development (CD3)
Associate Director, Shimadzu Laboratory for Pharmaceutical Research Excellence
isaac.schiefer@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

Area of Research

Creating novel therapies for neurodegeneration, with an emphasis on Alzheimer's disease

Accepting students

Zahoor Shah

Zahoor Shah, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Research
Director, Medicinal and Biological Chemistry Program
Professor
zahoor.shah@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Developing neuroprotective agents targeting neurodegeneration

James Slama

James T. Slama, Ph.D.

Director, Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences Program
Professor

james.slama@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Glycosidases, glycosyltransferases, nucleosidases, and ADP-ribosyl transferases

Accepting students (undergrad)

L.M. Viranga Tillekeratne

L.M. Viranga Tillekeratne, D. Phil.

Professor

liyanaaratchige.tillekeratne@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Synthesis and biological evaluation of anticancer agents

Hermann von Grafenstein

Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Immunology and structural biochemistry

Accepting students

Katherine Wall

Katherine A. Wall, Ph.D.

Professor
Department Chair
katherine.wall@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

T cell signaling and immunology, vaccines


department of Pharmacology and Experimental THerapeutics

Alouawaibi Headshot

Wissam Aboualaiwi, M.SC., Ph.D., FAHA

Professor
wissam.aboualaiwi@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Role of primary clilain kidney, cardiovascular and neurodegenerative disease

Accepting students (M.S. Pharmacology/Toxicology)

F. Scott Hall

F. Scott Hall, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director, B.S.P.S. Pharmacology/Toxicology Program
frank.hall@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Psychiatric disorders, addiction

Accepting students (undergrad)

William Messer

William S. Messer

Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Development of new treatments for neurological disorders 

Accepting students

Ana Maria Oyarce

Ana Maria Oyarce, Ph.D.

Clinical Associate Professor
anamaria.oyarce@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Effects of endocrine disruptors on neuropeptide processing, trafficking in neuroendocrine cells, dopamine beta-monooxygenase trafficking

Youssef Sari

Youssef Sari, Ph.D.

Professor
Department Vice-Chair
youssef.sari@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

The role of glutamate transport in drug abuse

Accepting students

Caren Steinmiller

Caren Steinmiller, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Lecturer
Clinical Professor
caren.steinmiller@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Substance use disorders

Frederick Williams

Frederick E. Williams, Ph.D.

Professor
Department Chair
frederick.williams2@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Zebrafish models of human disease, behavioral assessments

Hermann von Grafenstein

Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Immunology and structural biochemistry

Accepting students


department of Pharmacy Practice

Sarah Aldrick Renner

Sarah M. Aldrich Renner, Pharm.D., BCACP

Clinical Associate Professor
sarah.aldrich2@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Population health, primary care chronic disease state management

Gabriella Baki

Gabriella Baki, Ph.D., Pharm.D., M.A.

Associate Professor
Director, B.S.P.S. Cosmetic Science and Formulation Design Program
gabriella.baki@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Topical drug delivery, sunscreen formulation and testing

Accepting students

Curtis Black

Curtis D. Black, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
curtis.black2@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Development of innovative dosage forms and drug delivery systems to meet healthcare needs of patients

Mariann Churchwell

Mariann Churchwell, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP

Professor
mariann.churchwell@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Physical compatibility of sodium citrate with different agents

Marilee Clemons

Marilee Clemons, Pharm.D., BCACP

Clinical Associate Professor
Internal Medicine Pharmacist
marilee.clemons@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Ambulatory care, internal medicine

Accepting students

Katy Dulgar

Katy Dulgar, Pharm.D.

Assistant Lecturer
Clinical Pharmacist
katelyn.dulgar@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Internal medicine, anticoagulation, transitions of care

Pam Heaton

Pam Heaton, Ph.D., BSPharm, FAPhA

Dean and Professor
pam.heaton@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Pharmacoeconomics, health outcomes, health policy, pharmacoepidemiology, drug utilization review

Monica Holiday-Goodman

Monica Holiday-Goodman, Ph.D., R.Ph.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity and Inclusion
Professor
monica.holiday-goodman@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Katlyn Holt

Katlyn Holt, Pharm.D.

Clinical Assistant Lecturer
Internal Medicine Pharmacist
katlyn.holt@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Advanced heart failure therapies, mechanical circulatory support devices, anticoagulation

Mitchell Howard

Mitchell S. Howard, Pharm.D., M.B.A., R.Ph., BCACP

Clinical Assistant Professor
Director, Introductory Pharmacy Practice Program (IPPE)
Director, PGY1 Community-Based Residency Program
Director, Pharm.D./M.B.A. Dual-Degree Program
mitchell.howard@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Sports pharmacy, community pharmacy, IV compatibility

Megan Kaun

Megan Kaun, Pharm.D., R.Ph., BCACP

Senior Lecturer
Director, Experiential Education
megan.kaun@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

Aaron Lengel

Aaron Lengel, Pharm.D.

Clinical Associate Professor
Coordinator/Preceptor Kroger-UT Community Residency
aaron.lengel@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Impact of NTS on the community pharmacy team

Loulwa Maktabi

Loulwa Maktabi, Pharm.D.

Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor
loulwa.maktabi@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Behavioral health, quality improvement

Julie Murphy

Julie Murphy, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FCCP

Associate Dean for Accreditation Compliance
Associate Professor
julie.murphy@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Impact of the implementation of pharmacy services, improving patient outcomes, scholarship of teaching and learning

Jerry Nesamony

Jerry Nesamony, Ph.D., R.Ph.

Professor
Director, B.S.P.S. Pharmaceutics Program
Director, M.S.P.S. Industrial Pharmacy Program
jerry.nesamony@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Nonoparticulate and polymer based systems for drug delivery 

Martin Ohlinger

Martin J. Ohlinger, PharmD, RPh, FCCM

Clinical Professor and Chair, Pharmacy Practice
Distinguished University Lecturer
419.383.1535

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Critical Care Pharmacy

Michael Peeters

Michael J. Peeters, Ph.D., Pharm.D., M.Ed., FCCP, FNAP

Clinical Associate Professor
michael.peeters@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Pharmacy education research

 

Justin Reinert

Justin Reinert, Pharm.D., MBA., BCCCP

Assistant Professor

Director, Pharm.D./MBA Dual Degree Program
justin.reinert@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Clinical management of substance abuse and multi-modal analgestic strategies

Eric Sahloff

Eric G. Sahloff, Pharm.D., AAHIVP

Associate Professor
Chair, PharmD Recruitment and Admissions Committee
eric.sahloff@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

HIV/AIDS 

Kimberly Schmude

Kimberly Schmude, Pharm.D., R.Ph.

Senior Lecturer
kimberly.schmude@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

Michelle Schroeder

Michelle N. Schroeder, Pharm.D., R.Ph., BCACP, CDCES

Director of Assessment
Assistant Professor
michelle.mangan@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Pharmacy practice, laboratory-based teaching and assessment in the Pharm.D. curriculum

Michelle Seegert

Michelle L. Seegert, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM

Associate Dean for Admissions and Enrollment Management
Clinical Associate Professor
michelle.serres@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Experiential education, medication adherence, community pharmacy workflow, diabetes education and management, pharmacy school admissions and performance, chronic disease state management and medication prescribing habits

Varun Vaidya

Varun Vaidya, Ph.D.

College Advocate
Director, B.S.P.S. Pharmacy Administration Program
Director, M.S.P.S. in Health Outcomes and Socioeconomic Sciences
Professor
varun.vaidya@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

Area of Research

Health outcomes,  Pharmacoeconomics, Real World Evidence (RWE), Large data analytics

Alison Wery

Alison Wery, M.S.

Assistant Lecturer
alison.wery@utoledo.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

 

Last Updated: 2/22/24