Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Faculty

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages undergraduate students to seek research opportunities with the College faculty.

 

FACULTY MEMBER:

AREA OF RESEARCH:

  Wissam AbouAlaiwi, M.Sc., Ph.D. Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA).
Associate Professor
wissam.aboualaiwi@utoledo.edu
Development of drugs and targets for polycystic kidney disease and cardiovascular disease and hypertension
  F. Scott Hall, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
frank.hall@utoledo.edu
Psychiatric disorders, addiction
  Shikha Kumari, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
shikha.kumari@utoledo.edu
In vivo probes for therapeutic intervention of targeted human diseases to discover better drugs compared to existing ones
  Ming-Cheh Liu, Ph.D.
Professor
ming.liu@utoledo.edu
Cytosolic sulfotransferases, drug metabolism
  William S. Messer, Ph.D.
Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu
Development of new treatments for neurological disorders 
  Ana Maria Oyarce, Ph.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
anamaria.oyarce@utoledo.edu
Effect of endocrine disruptors on the synthesis, processing and expression of peptides and biosynthetic and/or processing enzymes in both the pituitary and adrenal glands. Sorting and trafficking of Dopamine beta-Monooxgenase, a catecholamine biosynthetic enzyme, to obtain information about routing of membrane proteins in the regulated secretory pathway of chromaffin cells and sympathetic neurons. Dopaminergic regulation of peptides and peptidergic enzymes.
  Youssef Sari, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Vice-Chair
youssef.sari@utoledo.edu
The role of glutamate transport in drug abuse
  Caren Steinmiller, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Lecturer
Clinical Professor
caren.steinmiller@utoledo.edu
Substance use disorders
  Amit K. Tiwari, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
amit.tiwari@utoledo.edu
Drug discovery, development and delivery
  Frederick E. Williams, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair
frederick.williams2@utoledo.edu
Zebrafish models of human disease, behavioral assessments
  Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu
Immunology and structural biochemistry
Last Updated: 9/15/21