Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry

Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry Faculty

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences encourages undergraduate students to seek research opportunities with the college's faculty members.

 

Faculty Member:

Area Of Research:

  Paul W. Erhardt, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
paul.erhardt@utoledo.edu
Small molecule drug design, synthesis, biological screening, PK assessment and preclinical development of lead candidates
  John R. Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
jon.kirchhoff@utoledo.edu
Development of modified electrodes and microelectrodes
  William S. Messer, Ph.D.
Professor
william.messer@utoledo.edu
Development of new treatments for neurological disorders
  Susanne T. Nonekowski, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Lecturer
susanne.nonekowski@utoledo.edu
Novel teaching methods that use technology to support active learning
  Steven M. Peseckis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
steven.peseckis@utoledo.edu
Heterotrimeric G-protein mediated signal transduction
  Erin G. Prestwich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
erin.prestwich@utoledo.edu
Pathophysiology of disease
  Isaac T. Schiefer, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Center for Drug Design and Development (CD3)
Associate Director, Shimadzu Laboratory for Pharmaceutical Research Excellence
isaac.schiefer@utoledo.edu
Creating novel therapies for neurodegeneration, with an emphasis on Alzheimer's disease
  Zahoor Shah, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Vice-Chair
zahoor.shah@utoledo.edu
Developing neuroprotective agents targeting neurodegeneration
  James T. Slama, Ph.D.
Director, BPSP Program
Professor
james.slama@utoledo.edu
Glycosidases, glycosyltransferases, nucleosidases, and ADP-ribosyl transferases
  L.M. Viranga Tillekeratne, D.Phil.
Professor
liyanaaratchige.tillekeratne@utoledo.edu
Synthesis and biological evaluation of anticancer agents
  Hermann von Grafenstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
hermann.grafenstein@utoledo.edu
Immunology and structural biochemistry
  Katherine A. Wall, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair
katharine.wall@utoledo.edu
T cell signaling and immunology, vaccines
Last Updated: 6/27/22