The Council of Biomedical Graduate Students

Graduate Research Forum

2023 Graduate Reseach Annual Forum (GRF)

Text: Graduate Research Forum, on a blue background with a yellow conversation bubbles icon.

The University of Toledo’s Council of Biomedical Graduate Students will hold its annual Graduate Research Forum on Health Science Campus Thursday and Friday, March 30 and 31.

Dr. Rudolf Jaenisch, Professor of Biology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and a founding member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, will be the keynote speaker. 

He also will be one of the final judges for student oral and poster presentations, which is the central focus of the annual event.


March 30, 2023

  • Poster Presentations
    9 a.m. – 12 p.m. Collier 1220 & 1230
  • Oral Presentations
    1:30 – 5 p.m. Collier 1200

March 31, 2023

  • Final Poster & Oral Presentations
    9 a.m. – 12 p.m. Collier 1200
  • Reception & Keynote Address with Rudolf Jaenisch,MD, Institute of Medicine; MIT
    3:30 p.m. – 5 p.m. HEB 105

2023 Abstract Book

Coming Soon

Previous Years



GRF 2022 Poster Session Finalists and Winners

  • Kelly Morgan (First Place)
  • Farzaneh Naghavi
  • Nicole Bell
  • Ryan Harris (Third Place)
  • Joshua Breidenbach (Second Place)

GRF 2022 Oral Session Finalists and Winners

  • Shumin Fan (Third Place)
  • Veani Roshale Fernando (First Place)
  • Sayani Bhattacharjee (Second Place)

2022 Abstract Book

GRF 2022 Abstract Booklet (PDF)


2021 Poster

GRF 2021 Poster Session Finalists and Winners

  • Fathima Dhilhani Mohammed Faleel
  • Sukanya Chakravarty
  • Smrithi Sugumaran Menon (Second Place)
  • Sara Moore (Third Place)
  • Mitchell Harberson
  • Rachel Golonka (First Place)

GRF 2021 Oral Session Finalists and Winners

  • Joshua Breidenbach (First Place Tie)
  • Jonnelle Edwards (Second Place)
  • Kathryn Becker (First Place Tie)

2021 Abstract Book

GRF 2021 Abstract Booklet (PDF)




  • 1st place: Kathryn Becker 
  • 2nd place: Jin Chen
  • 3rd place: Rachel Golonka


  • 1st place: Gayatri Subramanian 
  • 2nd place: Sarah Galla
  • 3rd place: Neha Nandedkar 


Students will be allowed to register for both poster and oral presentations at the link provided below. 


  • Lunch will only be provided to students that registered beforehand.
  • First-year students should REGISTER but select "No presentation" in the options.
  • Abstracts do not have to be submitted at the time of registration


***Please review this document for general guidelines regarding oral and poster presentations.

Please contact or your track representative with any questions.

Last Updated: 3/23/23