Molecular Medicine Graduate Program Track




Related Links

Contact Us

Health Science Campus
Block Health Science Building, Room # 282, Mail Stop #1008

3000 Arlington Avenue
Toledo, OH 43614
Phone: 419.383.4183
Fax: 419.383.2871


2012 News


November 2, 2012: Jean-Yves Tano successfully defends his dissertation

Congratulations to Jean-Yves Tano who successfully defended his dissertation June 11. The title of his dissertation was The Role of TRPC3 Channels in Macrophage Survival: Potential Implications in Atherogenesis and his major advisor was Dr. Guillermo Vazquez.

August 20, 2012: Welcome new BMS Graduate Students

The second annual Lab Coat Ceremony was held at 4:00PM to welcome the new graduate students into the BMS program.  The students were welcomed by Dr. Patricia Komuniecki, Vice Provost Graduate Affairs, Dean College of Graduate Studies and Dr. Randall Ruch, Associate Dean, COM Graduate Programs and Mr. Dan Saevig, Associate Vice President for Alumni Relations.  Each graduate student was presented a lab coat and a coffee mug imprinted with the program logo by Mr. Daniel Saevig, assisted by Marianne Pohlman.  Following the ceremony the students were addressed by Dr. Randall Ruch standing in for Dr. Dorothea Sawicki, Associate Dean College of Graduate Studies & Vice Chancellor for Graduate Health Science Studies and Gaurav Mehta, president of the Council of Biomedical Graduate Students. 

Dr. Patricia Komuniecki, Prince Tuffour Ampem, Dulat Bekbolsynov, Eric Starr, Erin Semple, Bruce Heck, Mani Maheshwari, Kristen Robinson, Shengnan Du, Kate Dvorak, Adaeze Izuogu, Shannon Brewer, Benjamin Chaney, Amanda Blaker, Xiaoliang Wang, Prabhatchandra Dube, Xi Cheng, Yoheng Wang, Bryan DeWitt, Drew Trunk and at the back Dr. Randall Ruch



Five students in the CVMD track participated in the June 1st commencement exercises receiving PhD degrees. The graduation ceremony was held in the Stranahan Theater. Graduating students and their major advisors in the CVMD track included:

Sumona Ghosh Lester, PhD; (Sonia Najjar, PhD)
Steven Haller, PhD; (Joseph Shapiro, MD)
Sadeesh Ramakrishnan, PhD; (Sonia Najjar, PhD)
Katye Smedlund, Ph.D. (Guillermo Vazquez, PhD)
Yanling Yan, Ph.D. (Joseph Shapiro, MD)
Jehnan Liu, MD, PhD; (Sonia Najjar, PhD)


Sumona Ghosh Lester was hooded by her advisor Sonia Najjar, PhD and awarded her degree by Dr. Jeffrey Gold


Steve Haller was hooded by his advisor Dr. Joe Shapiro and Dr. Chris Cooper


Sadeesh Ramakrishnan was hooded by his advisor Dr. Sonia Najjar


Katye Smedlund was hooded by her advisor Dr. Guillermo Vazquez


Jehnan Liu was hooded by his advisor Dr. Sonia Najjar


Back: Rebecca Thompson, Mithun Khattar, Sadeesh Ramakrishnan, Katye Smedlund
Front: Honorary Degree recipients Jo Ivey Boufford and James M. Pietro, J.D. with Dr. Jeffrey Gold

Last Updated: 8/29/18