College of Business and Innovation

Packmaker Awards honor William Carroll, outstanding UT business students

The University of Toledo College of Business and Innovation (COBI) and the Business Engagement and
Leadership Council recognized business and academic excellence during their annual Pacemaker Awards
on Friday, March 23 at the Inverness Country Club.

Each year the prestigious Pacemaker Award recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in
business as well as contributions to the community and the University. The 2012 recipient of the
Business Pacemaker Award is William J. Carroll, currently on the Board of Directors of Graco, Inc., and
former President and Chief Operating Officer of Dana Corporation.

“William Carroll’s highly successful career, community involvement and outstanding integrity and
leadership in the regional business arena make him the ideal business professional to receive this year’s
Pacemaker Award, the College’s highest honor,” observed Thomas G. Gutteridge, Dean, UT College of
Business and Innovation. “As a UT College of Business alumnus, current member of the UT COBI
Business Engagement and Leadership Council (BELC) and a former chair of the BELC, Bill continues to live
his deep personal commitment to the College and its important activities within the business

Carroll, a member of the United States Marine Corps Reserve for six years, obtained his bachelor’s
degree in accounting at UT and completed an advanced management program at Harvard Business
School. He held several key positions at Dana Corporation, including that of President and Chief
Operating Officer from 2003 to 2004.

Carroll also has been Director of Economic and Community Development for the City of Toledo; Chief
Executive Officer of Limo‐Reid, Inc.; and principal of Highland Jebco, LLC, where he is currently a consultant.

In addition to his involvement with the COBI BELC, Carroll is a trustee of Lourdes College, Chairman of
the Lucas County Port Authority, and a member of the Toledo‐Lucas County Convention and Visitors

Bureau. He and his wife Cathy have four children.
Academic Excellence Pacemaker Awards are presented to UT College of Business and Innovation
graduate and undergraduate students for their outstanding academic achievement, University and
community service, and leadership.

The 2012 student Pacemakers are:
Accounting ‐ Shane Sobczak and Lauren Stuck; Finance ‐ John Doncaster and Colin McHugh;
Information Operations Technology Management ‐ Stephen James and Lindsay Vollmar; Marketing
and International Business ‐ Adam Covault and Rachael Kravitz; Management ‐ Michael Schaffer and
Sydney Smith; MBA ‐ Kyle Kickbusch; Executive MBA ‐ Eric Benington; Ph.D. ‐ Vafa Saboorideilami;
Dean’s Office ‐ Frank Lindsay‐Pangalos (MIB) and Thomas Schwann (EMBA).
Last Updated: 11/3/16