BIPG6200/8200 Biomarker Discovery, Validation and Implementation; Spring 2013

Unit 1 Biomarker Discovery and Validation (January-February 2013)

Unit director: Alexei Fedorov, PhD

Time and location: 1:00-2:30, HSC campus, Health Education Bldg, rm 127

Timetable:

1) Monday 01/07/2013. Lecture 1 Definition and Clinical Need for biomarkers (Her2/neu; PSA) Debra Gmerek and Keith Crist)

2) Thursday 01/10/13. Lecture 2 Introduction to genomics and RNomics (Alexei)

3) Monday 01/14/13. Lecture 3 Single Nucleotide Polymorphism p1 (John Gray)

4) Thursday 01/17/13. Lecture 4 Single Nucleotide Polymorphism p2 (John Gray)

Monday 01/21/13 Holiday

5) Thursday 01/24/13. Genearrays (Douglas Leaman)

6) Monday 01/28/13. Transcriptomic p1 (Introduction, Alexei)

7) Thursday 01/31/13. Transcriptomic biomarkers p2 (Tools, ASE, Alexei)

8) Monday 02/04/13. Population Genetics. Alexei Fedorov

9) Thursday 02/07/13. Genome Wide Association Studies - requirements for validity (George Cicila)

10) Monday 02/11/13. Metabolomics biomarker14)s (Dragan Isailowic and Larisa Fedorova)

11) Thursday 02/14/13. Recombination of nucleic acids (Alexei Fedorov).

12) Monday 02/18/13. Lecture. Epigenomics (Ivana de la Serna and Ashwin Prakash).

13) Thursday 02/21/13. Lecture. Proteomic biomarkers (Nikolay Modyanov)

14) Monday 02/25/13 – Thursday 02/28/13. Project/Take-home exam. (30 years of Evolution of bacteria, Richard Lensky papers) (Alexei Fedorov)


Unit 2. Individualized Medicine(March-May 2013)

Unit Director: Beata Lecka-Czernik, PhD

Time and location: 1:00-2:30, HSC campus, Health Education Bldg, rm 127

Timetable:

15) Monday 03/11/13. Clinical Need - where has it been important (D. Gmerek, PhD – Associate Dean for Research and K. Crist, PhD - Dept. Surgery)

16) Thursday 03/14/13. Pharmacogenomics and personalized ADMET (W. Messer, PhD – Dept. Pharmacology)

17) Monday 03/18/13. Biomarkers for individualized therapy for breast and prostate cancer (TBA - Dept. Biochemistry and Cancer Biology)

18) Thursday 03/21/13. Biomarkers of cancer cell motility (K. Eisenmann, PhD – Dept. Biochemistry and Cancer Biology)

19) Monday 03/25/13. Endothelial biomarkers of cardiovascular disease and stem cell therapy (N. Puri, PhD – Dept. Physiology and Phamacology)

20) Thursday 03/28/13. Biomarkers for stroke (G. Tietjen, MD – Dept. Neurology)

21) Monday 04/01/13. Biomarkers of bone formation and stem cell therapy (P. Czernik, PhD – Dept. Orthopaedic Surgery)

22) Thursday 04/04/13. Biomarkers for Alzheimer disease (K. Hensley, PhD – Dept. Pathology)

23) Monday 04/08/13. Individualized immunotherapy (R. Worth, PhD – Dept. Microbiology and Immunology)

24) Thursday 04/11/13. Targeted transplant, donor-recipient matching (S. Stepkowski, PhD – Dept. Microbiology and Immunology)

25) Monday 04/15/13. Validation - Design and conduct of trials - Patient selection (J. Willey, MD – Dept. Medicine)

26) Thursday 04/18/13. Statistical methods for Biomarkers - (S. Khuder, PhD – Dept. Medicine)

Exam

 

Last Updated: 2/26/13