Speech-Language Pathology Program

Faculty

The SLP faculty and staff are certified by the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association.

Rod Gabel

Dr. Rodney Gabel, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, BRS-FD
Professor
Program Director
Director, Northwest Ohio Intensive Stuttering Clinics
BS and MS Bowling Green State University
Ph.D. The Pennsylvania State University

Teaching interests are centered around the nature and treatment of stuttering and fluency disorders. Research interests are treatment outcomes of intensive therapy programs for stuttering and the psycho-social impact of stuttering. 

419-530-6682
Office: HH2024
rodney.gabel@utoledo.edu

Ellis

Dr. Lee Ellis, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Professor (Retired)

lee.ellis@utoledo.edu

JGlassman

Mrs. Jennifer Glassman, M.A., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor

419-530-6683
Office:  HH2032
jennifer.glassman@utoledo.edu

Shughes

Dr. Stephanie Hughes, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
B.A. University of Oregon
M.A. Central Michigan University
Ph.D. Bowling Green State University

Dr. Hughes' research focuses on the many ways in which individuals (and society in general) are affected by communication differences and disorders. She conducts research in the following areas: psychosocial aspects of stuttering, quality of life issues associated with communication disorders, effects of the therapeutic relationship on efficacy/effectiveness of therapy, and use of qualitative and mixed methods in communication disorders research.

419-530-3106
Office: HH2022
stephanie.hughes@utoledo.edu

Aileen Hunt Ms. Aileen Hunt. M.A., CCC-SLP
Lecturer                                                          
419-530-2192
Office: HH1240D
Aileen.Hunt@utoledo.edu

 Dr. Caroline Menezes, Ph.D., SLP
Associate Professor
B.S. & M.S. University of Madras, India
M.A. Ohio University
Ph.D. Ohio State University

Assistant professor with research interest in articulation of prosodic units in human speech. Her research includes the use the  3-D ElectroMagnetoArticulograph system that records fine kinematic data of speech articulators including structures within the oral cavity like the tongue and lower jaw. Dr. Menezes’ research also looks at the phonetic correlates of emotion in speech including laughter, suspicion, sad, happy and love.

419-530-4443
Office: HH2026
caroline.menezes@utoledo.edu                     

 Lori Pakulski 2014

Dr. Lori Pakulski, Ph.D., CCC-A
Professor
B.S. Michigan State University
M.A., PhD. Bowling Green University

Dr. Pakulski is a pediatric audiologist with expertise in listening, spoken language development, and academic achievement of children with hearing loss. She has also studied the impact of noise on hearing and learning. Currently, she is directing a personnel preparation grant that focuses on training speech-language pathologists to work with children with hearing loss.

419-530-2573
Office: HH2022
lori.pakulski@utoledo.edu

Academic Administrative Assistant:  Becky Gwozdz  419-530-6670 becky.gwozdz@utoledo.edu

Mailing address:

University of Toledo
Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
2801 W. Bancroft/MS119
Toledo, Ohio 43606 

Last Updated: 8/26/15