Department of Biological Sciences


Biological Sciences Menu



Contact Us

Main Campus
Wolfe Hall

Room 1235
Phone: 419.530.2065
Fax: 419.530.7737

Undergraduate Programs


Unified Scholarship Application for NSM

C.V. Wolfe Scholarship

The family of former UT professor Cletus V. Wolfe established the C.V. Wolfe Scholarship fund to provide scholarships for students in the departments of History, Natural Sciences and Theatre, and in the College of Law. The scholarship awards are based on financial need and high academic promise. Mr. Wolfe was a former high school principal, and instructor of government and constitutional law at UT in the 1920s. He also served as a University trustee and chairman of the Academic Affairs Committee for six years. Mr. Wolfe practiced law in the firms of Wolfe & Seeley and Seeley, Wolfe & Rodgers. He later became a prominent businessman, as president of the Western Ohio Corp. (formerly First Toledo Corp.) and founder of the Lima Lumber Co. Mr. Wolfe died in 1967, and his wife Vera died in 1991. The scholarship fund was established by their son Frederic (Fritz) Wolfe, of Perrysburg; and daughters Helen Minck, Marilyn Allison, and Martha Farmer, all of Lima. Fritz Wolfe says the endowed scholarship fund seemed the right tribute to his father. "Our father was academically oriented. Education was high on his list of priorities, and he was especially interested in the University of Toledo," he says. "We decided that establishing a memorial fund that would support student scholarships was very appropriate."

Nicole Dominiak
Raj Thomas 2015-2016 Recipient

C.V. Wolfe Scholarship Recipients

2015-2106 Raj Thomas

2014-2015 Andrea Tsatalis
2013-2014 Shazli Khan  
2012-2013 Abigail Wagner 
2011-2012 Amanda Kitson 
2010-2011 Adam Rockay 
2009-2010 Kevin Swiatek
2008-2009 Nicole Dominiak
2007-2008 Melissa Crites
2006-2007 Danielle Hayden
2005-2006 Nicole Dominiak
2004-2005 Robin Davidson
2003-2004 Robin Davidson
2002-2003 Lyndsey Emery
2001-2002 Lyndsey Emery
2000-2001 Christina Cain
1999-2000 Christina Cain & Mohamad Moussa
1998-1999 Laura Calkins
1997-1998 Abigail Humphreys
1996-1997 Abigail Humphreys
1995-1996 Valerie Kufel
1994-1995 Valerie Kufel
1993-1994 Valerie Kufel

Elmer R. and Gertrude M. Brigham Scholarship in Science

This scholarship was established by Sister Barbara Brigham of the Medical Mission Sisters (Philadelphia) in memory of her parents. In particular, her father was able to have a higher education because of the generosity of an uncle. Sister Brigham wished to create this scholarship in that spirit. The Brigham scholarship is available every three years to a Biology student (in other years students in other natural sciences receive it).   The selection criteria are the same as those for the C.V. Wolfe Scholarship (described above) except that the awardee does not have to be an Ohio resident.

Rachael Mintz
Rachael Mintz, 2003-2004 Recipient

Brigham Scholarship Recipients

2013 Jessica Jenkins
2008 Vieh Kung
2003-2004 Rachael Mintz
1998-1999 Jill Pauly

Fred O. Hartman Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2006 by Dr. Fred O. Hartman. Dr. Hartman is a UT Biology graduate and retired Ohio State University professor with a particular interest in plants.

Amber Young in lab
Amber Young, 2006-2007 Recipient

Hartman Scholarship Recipients 

2014-2015 Ashley LaFontaine
2013-2014 MacKenzie Keegan
2012-2013 Matthew Fisher
2010-2011 Raquel Prosen
2009-2010 Shannon Desmond
2008-2009 Ryann Coffman
2007-2008 Ashley Adams
2006-2007 Amber Young 

Balch Fellowship Recipients

Amber Young in labFarrah Alarmanazi, 2015-2016 Recipient

2015-2016 Farrah Alarmanazi
2014-2015 Karlyn Waldeck 

 Biology Merit Recipients

 Amber Young in labSimran Marwah, 2015-2016 Recipient
2015-2016 Simran Marwah

 Fraleigh Scholarship

Amber Young in labMaryam Jawaid, 2015-2016 Recipient
2015-2016 Maryam Jawaid
Last Updated: 11/1/17