Lake Erie Center


Welcome to the LEC


Visitor Resources

Contact Us

6200 Bayshore Road
Oregon, OH 43616
Phone: 419.530.8360
Fax: 419.530.8399

The Lake Erie Center is open to the public
Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tours offered Wednesday at 10 a.m.

Map to the LEC

GK-12 Poster Gala

Each year our program sponsors a poster gala for our high school student participants in which they showcase their research projects and compete for prizes. This gala is attended by undergraduate and graduate students, university staff, faculty, and administration, high school teachers and administration, and local politicians. 

2009 Poster Gala

  • Took place on April 30, 2009
  • Featured 24 poster presentations by 36 students
  • 110 attendees including Lloyd Jacobs, University of Toledo President and Teresa Fedor, Ohio Representative 
  • Winners:
    Scientific Merit Awards
    First Place: Eva de la Serna & Allison Murray (Ottawa Hills High School)
    Second Place: Evan Brochin & Adam Moreau (Ottawa Hills High School)
    Honorable Mention: Ken Gibbons & Pamela Fink (Bowsher High School)

    Environmental Significance Awards
    First Place: Susanne Karsiotis (Clay High School)
    Second Place: Matthew Hughes (Scott High School)
    Honorable Mention: Symantha Bollinger (Toledo Early College High School)

2010 Poster Gala

  • Took place on April 22, 2010
  • Featured 28 poster presentations by 44 students
  • 130 attendees including Frank Calzonetti, University of Toledo Vice President of Research and Nina McClelland, Dean of College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Winners:
    Individual Research Awards
    First Place: Morgan Isenberg (Ottawa Hills High School) 
    Second Place: Ana Petkovska (Start High School)
    Honarable Mention: Christina Casano (Toledo Early College High School)

    Collaborative Research Awards
    First Place: Treasur Jacobs, Ambriah Morehead, Mercedes Nunez, Jacob Torres, De'Von Thomas, & Jada Valentine  (Toledo Early College High School)
    Second Place: Sarah Scisson & Matt Hyttenhove (Start High School)
    Honarable Mention: Haley Gasser & Victoria Northrup

    Fellow Awards
    Outstanding GK-12 Fellow Award: Todd Crail
    Excellence in GK-12 Mentoring Award: Kristen DeVanna 

2011 Poster Gala

  • Took place on April 15, 2011
  • Featured 55 poster presentations by 104 students
  • 250 attendees including Matt Szollozi, Ohio Representative; Karen Bjorkman, University of Toledo Dean of the College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics; and Jane Ruvolo, Congressional Assistant to U.S. Representative Marcy Kaptur 
  • Winners:
    Individual Research Awards
    First Place: Reeya Patel (Ottawa Hills High School)
    Second Place: Ben Dayton (Ottawa Hills High School)
    Third Place: Alan Wood (Clay High School)

    Collaborative Research Awards
    First Place: Alyse Allen, Emily Barnett, Kelly Cornell, Lauren Cottrell, Davine Fears, & Shaina Nelson (Bowsher High School)
    Second Place: Lexii Bryant & Jessica Jasco (Clay High School)
    Third Place: Matthew Hennessy & Jack Nagy (Clay High School)

    Fellow Awards 
    Excellence in GK-12 Mentoring Award: Lindsey Pierce
    Outstanding GK-12 Fellow: Nancy Cochran
    People's Choice GK-12 Fellow: Hannah Schlachter 

2012 Poster Gala
Will be held on April 26, 2012, 6-8:00. Click here to register. Conact for more information
Last Updated: 8/18/17