Research and Sponsored Programs

University Research Council

In accordance with the relevant section of the The University of Toledo Policy Manual, the University Research Council is comprised of a combination of appointments by the President, Faculty Senate, and Graduate Council Executive Committee, as well as through ex officio membership. The length of service varies with the appointment basis. A new policy that reflects the altered structure of the university has recently been approved and signed.

Minutes of the Research Council for the past twelve months can be found here.

The council meets the fourth Friday of the month from 1:00 - 2:30 PM (except for alternate dates for November and December due to the holidays) and the venue alternates between the Memorial Fieldhouse on the Main Campus and the Neurosciences Conference Room on the Health Science Campus.

The meeting schedule for 2016-2017 is here.

University Research Council Membership 2016-2017
Name Discipline Appointment Term
Debra Boardley, PhD Debra Boardley Health Science Faculty Senate Yr 1 of 3 year term
Michael Dowd, PhD Michael Dowd Social Sciences  Faculty Senate Yr 2 of 3 year term
Barbara Floyd Barbara Floyd Libraries  Faculty Senate Yr 1 of 3 year term
Llew Gibbons, JD  Llew Gibbons  Law  Faculty Senate Yr 1 of 3 year term
Ruth Hottell, PhD  Ruth Hottell  Humanities  Faculty Senate Yr 2 of 3 year term
Marthe Howard, PhD Marthe Howard  Medicine  Faculty Senate Yr 3 of 3 year term
Eileen Walsh, PhD Eileen Walsh Nursing  Faculty Senate Yr 3 of 3 year term
Peter Andreana, PhD Peter Andreana Natural Sciences  Graduate Council Yr 3 of 3 year term
Christopher Burnett, MFA Chris Burnett Arts Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term
Zeljko Cuckovic, PhD Zeljko Cuckovic
 Mathematics  Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term
Hassan HassabElnaby, PhD Hassan HassabElnaby  Business  Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term 
Joan Kanderavek, PhD Joan Kaderavek  Education  Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term  
Patricia Relue Patricia Relue  Engineering  Graduate Council  Yr 1 of 3 year term
Wendy Cochrane Wendy Cochrane Human Service  Presidential  1-year term
Vijaya Devabhaktuni, PhD Vijay Devabhaktuni Engineering Presidential  1-year term
Jennifer Hill Jennifer Hill Medicine Presidential  1-year term 
Marcia IcInerney, PhD Marcia McInerney Pharmacy Presidential 1-year term
Kevin Pan, MD, PhD Zhixing Kevin Pan Medicine Presidential  1-year term
Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Dean Amanda C.
 XO College of
Graduate Studies
Frank Calzonetti, PhD Frank Calzonetti Vice President of Research XO Research & Sponsored
Rick Francis, PhD Rick Francis Director,
and Sponsored Programs
XO Research & Sponsored 
  Marcie Ferguson   Secretary Research & Sponsored Programs

Source of Appointments
Source of Appointment Number of Appointments Length of Term
Graduate Council 6 appointments 3 year term
Faculty Senate 7 appointments 3 year term
Presidential 5 appointments 1 year term
Disciplines Represented
Discipline   Number of Representatives
Health Science
Human Service

  3 Representatives for each of the
  three disciplinary areas


  3 Representatives


  2 Representatives

Natural Sciences

  2 Representatives


  1 Representative each


  1 Representative each


  1 Representative each


  1 Representative each


  1 Representative each

Social Services

  1 Representative each


  1 Representative each

Libraries   1 Representative each
Last Updated: 3/14/17