Office of Recreational Services

Lifeguard

If you’re 15 or older and looking for a great summer job or challenging career that’s in demand, the Red Cross Lifeguarding program is the place to start. Through videos, group discussion and hands-on practice, you’ll learn patron rescue and surveillance skills, first aid and CPR/AED. Courses are available with a focus on a variety of environments, including pools, waterfronts, waterparks and shallow water attractions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Class Information
- Two-Year Lifeguarding/First Aid/CPR/AED certification; Waterfront certification available 
- Lifeguarding Manual and resuscitation mask will be provided to borrow, but must be returned at the end of the class

Prerequisites/Requirements
- Must successfully pass a Pre-Course Session (see below)
Participants must be at least 15 years old
one piece bathing suit must be brought to the first class, and every class thereafter
- Must attend and fully participate in the entire class
- Must pass all skill checks and receive an 80% or higher on written exam
- We do not reserve spots without payment

Class Length
- Training is approximately 32 hours

Cost
$175 for UT Students, REC Members, and Camp Adventure students
$180 for Non-Members
- The cost includes the pre-course session
NOTE: Participants who fail a certification class will not receive a credit or a refund.

Registration Deadline: 2 days before 1st class
 REGISTER HERE

Pre-Course Requirements 

Lifeguard Pre-Course Session
This pre-course is prerequisite for the Lifeguard course and is offered at no additional cost. The pre-course must be completed BEFORE the participant starts the Lifeguard class. Participants will be given two attempts at pre-course skills during any one session; those who fail the pre-course session may continue to re-enroll in the future pre-course sessions without any additional costs. When participants re-enroll in a future pre-course class, they must first notify the Office of Recreational Services. No walk-ins are allowed. Participants must bring a swimsuit, towel, and padlock for the locker room.
Skills checked for Standard Lifeguarding 

300 yd. Swim: Swim 300 yards continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing. Candidates may swim using the front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both but swimming on the back or side is not allowed. Swim goggles may be used.
2 Minute Tread: Tread water for 2 minutes using only the legs. Candidates should place their hands under the armpits.
Brick Test: Complete a timed event within 1 minute, 40 seconds. Starting in the water, swim 20 yards. Surface dive, feet-first or head-first, to a depth of 8 feet to retrieve a 10-pound object. Return to the surface and swim 20 yards on the back to return to the starting point with both hands holding the object and keeping the face at or near the surface so they are able to get a breath. Candidates should not swim the distance under water. Exit the water without using a ladder or steps. Swim goggles are not allowed.

Skills checked for Shallow Water Lifeguarding

100 yd Swim: Swim 100 yards continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing. Candidates may swim using the front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both but swimming on the back or side is not allowed. Swim goggles are allowed.
2 Minute Tread: Tread water for 2 minutes using only the legs. Candidates should place their hands under the armpits.
Brick Test: Complete a timed event within 50 seconds. Starting in the water, swim 20 yards using the front crawl or breaststroke. Submerge to a depth of 4 to 5 feet to retrieve a 10-pound object. Return to the surface and walk or swim 20 yards to return to the starting point with both hands holding the object at the surface of the water. Exit the water without using a ladder or steps. Swim goggles are not allowed.

Skills checked for Waterfront Lifeguarding Module

550 yd Swim: Swim 550 yards continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing. Candidates may swim using the front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both but swimming on the back or side is not allowed. Swim goggles are allowed.     
2 Minute Tread: Tread water for 2 minutes using only the legs. Candidates should place their hands under the armpits.
Brick Test: Complete a timed event within 1 minute, 40 seconds. Starting in the water, swim 20 yards. Surface dive, feet-first or head-first, to a depth of 8 feet to retrieve a 10-pound object. Return to the surface and swim 20 yards on the back to return to the starting point with both hands holding the object and keeping the face at or near the surface so they are able to get a breath. Candidates should not swim the distance under water. Exit the water without using a ladder or steps. Swim goggles are not allowed.
Dive Rings: Swim 5 yards, submerge and retrieve three dive rings placed 5 yards apart in 4 to 7 feet of water, resurface and continue to swim another 5 yards to complete the skill sequence.

2016-2017 Lifeguard Course Schedule

         

Camp Adventure Students ONLY (dates and times tentative)

Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Tuesday (precourse) November 1, 2016 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool   Monday (precourse) January 30, 2017 6pm-7:30pm Elm/Pool
Wednesday(precourse) November 2, 2016 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool   Wednesday (precourse) February 1, 2017 8:30pm-10pm Elm/Pool
Thursday November 3, 2016 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Saturday February 4, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Friday November 4, 2016 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Sunday February 5, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Saturday November 5, 2016 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Saturday February 11, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Sunday November 6, 2016 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Sunday February 12, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Monday November 7, 2016 5pm-9pm Maple/Pool          
Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Monday(precourse) February 13, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool   Monday(precourse) March 13, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool
Wednesday(precourse) February 15, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool   Wednesday(precourse) March 15, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool
Thursday Feb 16, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Thursday March 16, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Friday Feb 17, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Friday March 17, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday Feb 18, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Saturday March 18, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Sunday February 19, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Sunday March 19, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Monday Feb 20, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Monday March 20, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
          Tuesday (Waterfront only) March 21, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Monday(precourse) April 3, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/shallow lap lanes   Tuesday(precourse) April 11, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool
Wednesday(precourse) April 5, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/shallow lap lanes   Wednesday(precourse) April 12, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool
Thursday April 6, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/ Leisure Pool   Thursday April 13, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Friday April 7, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/ Leisure Pool   Friday April 14, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday April 8, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/ Leisure Pool   Saturday April 15, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Sunday April 9, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/ Leisure Pool   Sunday April 16, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Monday April 10, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/ Leisure Pool   Monday April 17, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
          Tuesday (Waterfront only) March 21, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool

 

Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Monday(precourse) May 8, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool    Monday(precourse) June 5, 2017 5pm-6:30pm Elm/Pool
Wednesday(precourse) May 10, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool    Wednesday(precourse) June 7, 2017 6:30pm-8pm Elm/Pool
Thursday May 11, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool    Thursday June 8, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Friday May 12, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool    Friday June 9, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday May 13, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool    Saturday June 10, 0217 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Sunday May 14, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool    Sunday June 11, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Monday May 15, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool    Monday June 12, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
 Tuesday May 16, 2017 5pm-9pm  Elm/Pool    Tuesday (Waterfront only) June 13, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
 

Lifeguard Review

The purpose of a Lifeguard Review course is to give individuals the opportunity to review the course content within a formal course setting. The review course format optimizes a participant's ability to successfully complete the knowledge and skills evaluations.

The Lifeguard Review course can be taken by anyone wit ha current and valid Lifeguarding/First Aid/CPR/AED certification who wants to renew their certificates.

Class Information 
-       Two-year Lifeguarding/First Aid/CPR/AED Certification will be awarded upon successful completion of the course
-       Book and resuscitation mask will be provided to borrow, but must be returned at the end of the class
-       Must attend and fully participate in entire class
-       Must pass all skill checks and receive an 80% or higher on written exams

Prerequisites/Requirements
-       Participants must have current certifications in Lifeguard/Waterfront/Shallow Water, CPR for the Professional Rescuer, AED, and First Aid.
-       Participants must be able to perform appropriate pre-course skill checks for Lifeguarding/Waterfront/Shallow Water

Class Length 
-       Training is approximately 12 hours (Two Day Sessions)

Cost 
$90 for UT Students, REC Members, and Camp Adventure students
$100 for Non-Members
NOTE: Participants who fail a certification class will not receive a credit or a refund.

Registration Deadline: 2 days before 1st class

REGISTER HERE   

2016-2017 Scheduled Lifeguard Review Courses

Day Date Time Room
Friday November 18, 2016 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday November 19, 2016 10am-6pm Elm/Pool

 

Day Date Time Room
Friday December 2, 2016 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday December 3, 2016 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Friday January 13, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Friday February 24, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Saturday January 14, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Sunday February 26, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Day Date Time Room   Day Date Time Room
Friday March 24, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool   Friday April 21, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Sunday March 26, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool   Saturday April 22, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
Day Date Time Room
Friday May 19, 2017 5pm-9pm Elm/Pool
Sunday May 20, 2017 10am-6pm Elm/Pool
                                     

                                                    

                                                        

                                                 

Last Updated: 11/21/16