College of Arts and Letters


Resources and Links

Contact Us

Main Campus
University Hall

Third Floor, Room 3160
Phone: 419.530.2164

2012 LLSS Honors Ceremony

The College of Languages, Literature and Social Sciences recognized its first class of outstanding and award winning students in a ceremony held in Doermann Theatre on May 4. The Outstanding Students in the departments were recognized with a special medallion cast for the occasion by Professor Thomas Lingeman and students in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, Department of Art. The 2012 LLSS Outstanding Students are:

Department of Communication Outstanding Student: Ashley Karsten

Department of Economics Outstanding Student:  Nicholas A. Jones

Department of English Language & Literature Outstanding Student: Sam Johnston         

Department of Foreign Languages Outstanding Student: Markie Miller

Department of Geography and Planning Outstanding Student: Chad Wilson

Department of History Outstanding Student: Caitlin Jewell

Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies:

            Outstanding Student—Philosophy :  Caroline Schneider

            Outstanding Student— Religious Studies:  Zachery Dehm

 Department of Political Science Outstanding Student:  Gretchen Hubbard

 Department of Psychology Outstanding Student:  Sarah Robertson

 Department of Sociology and Anthropology

            Outstanding Student—Anthropology:  Markie Miller

            Outstanding Student—Sociology:  Katy Leroux

Department of Women’s & Gender Studies Outstanding Student: Katherine Rasmussen

Law and Social Thought Program Outstanding Student:  Brandi Coleman

Each year one of the outstanding students from the departments and interdisciplinary programs is selected as the Outstanding College Student. The 2012 LLSS Outstanding Student is Markie Miller, a double major in Anthropology and in German.

The ceremony also honored the Dean’s Essay Prize winners. Each received a Certificate and a check for $250. The honoree for the Short Prose Essay was Zachary Dehm for his essay on “The Roman Catholic Church and the Holocaust, Called to Serve in the Modern World.” The winner of the Long Prose Essay was Erica Olschansky for her work titled “I Can’t Be Sure If He’s Faking, Holocaust Testimony and the Unreliable Narrator in Art Spiegelman’s Maus.” The 2012 Dean’s Essay Prize in Creative Work was Roselyn Muniz for her work called “Peace.”  

An album of photographs taken by Terry Fell can be found by clicking here or by going to
Last Updated: 1/4/17