Molecular Medicine Graduate Program Track

Archive 2012

Kristine Angevine
PhD  defense October 30, 2012 
Project: The interaction of endothelial cells and mesenchymal stem cells.
AdvisorDr. Mensah-Osman
E-mailKristine.Angevine@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Angevine is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biological Chemistry at the University of Michigan.


Jean-Yves Tano
PhD  defense November 2, 2012
Project: The role of TRPC3 channels in macrophage survival: Potential implications in atherogenesis.
AdvisorDr. Guillermo Vazquez
E-mail: Jean-Yves.Tano@rockets.utoledo.edu

In April 2013, Dr. Tano, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Dr. Guillermo Vazquez, was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship from the Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation to perform studies at Dr. Maik Gollasch's lab at the Max Delbrueck Center in Berlin for two years. 


Leah Wuescher 
Ph.D. defense November 1, 2012
Project: The role of the menin protein in hepatic metabolism.
AdvisorDr. Mensah-Osman
E-mailLeah.Palladino@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Wuescher has joined the UT Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology as a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Randall Worth's laboratory.


 Qiqi Ye

PhD Defense May 19, 2012
Project: Regulation of SRC by alpha 1 Na/K-ATpase
Advisor:  Dr. Zi-Jain Xie

Dr. Ye will be a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Choi's lab at Yale University, New Haven, CT.


Yanling Yan
PhD defense May 25, 2012
Project:  Na/K-ATPase signaling mediates renal sodium handling
Advisor:  Dr. Joseph Shapiro
E-mail:  Yanling.Yan@utoledo.edu

Dr. Yan accepted a postdoctoral fellow position in Dr. Shapiro's lab at Marshall University, Huntington, WV.


 Sumona Ghosh 

PhD   March 16, 2012
Project: A novel role for CEACAM1 in hepatic stellate cell activation in the progression of non-alcoholic steatopepatitis
AdvisorDr. Sonia Najjar  (CeDER)
E-mailSumona.Ghosh@rockets.utoledo.edu   


 Steven Haller

PhD   Graduated 2012
Project: Marinobufagenin Induced Uremic Cardiomyopathy: The role of passive immunization, rapamycin, and CD40 signaling in the generation of renal fibrosis
Advisor:  Dr. Joseph Shapiro
E-mail:  Steven.Haller@utoledo.edu

Dr. Haller is an Assistant Professor, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, at the University of Toledo


 Sadeesh Kumar Ramakrishnan 

PhD  March 16, 2012
Project:  Dietary fat regulates metabolic and mitogenic effects of insulin
AdvisorDr. Sonia Najjar  (CeDER)
E-mail: Sadeesh.Ramakrishnan@utoledo.edu  


Kathryn Smedlund

PhD Defense January 20, 2012
Project:  The role of TRPC3 channels in the molecular and cellular events associated to atherogenesis
Advisor:  Dr. Guillermo Vazquez
Email:  Kathryn.Smedlund@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Smedlund is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Guillermo Vazquez, UT Department of Physiology and Pharmacology.  In Dec 2015 she obtained the position of Associate Medical Research Manager at North American Science Associates, Inc. (NAMSA) in Toledo.

Last Updated: 6/2/17