Cardiovascular and Metabolic Diseases Graduate Program Track




Related Links

Contact Us

Health Science Campus
Block Health Science Building, Room # 209, Mail Stop #1008

3000 Arlington Avenue
Toledo, OH 43614
Phone: 419.383.4182
Fax: 419.383.2871


June 25, 2010: The 37th Annual Pharmacology Colloquium at MSU

Thirty students and post-doctoral fellows and 6 faculty members of the Physiology and Pharmacology Department and CVMD graduate track attended the 37th Annual Pharmacology Research Colloquium held this year in the Radiology Auditorium and Atrium at Michigan State University in East Lansing, Michigan.  This colloquium brings together graduate students and faculty from the “pharmacology” departments of the Michigan State University, the University of Michigan, Wayne State University, and the University of Toledo, College of Medicine for a day long scientific program.  Each of the schools takes turns in hosting this annual event. The colloquium primarily provides a forum for doctoral students to present their research in both oral and poster presentations and an opportunity for all participants to exchange ideas.  These colloquia were initiated 37 years ago by Dr. Theodore M. Brody of Michigan State University and Dr. Benedict Lucchesi of the University of Michigan.  

The welcome address was delivered by Dr. J. R. Haywood, Chair of the MSU Dept. of Pharmacology and Toxicology

The program included 12 oral presentations, including those by UT students Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda, and Sima Rahman, 56 poster presentations including 18 presented by UT students.  The keynote lecture was presented by Curt Sigmund, Ph.D. Roy Carver Chair in Hypertension Research, Professor Depts. Internal Medicine and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Director Transgenic Animal Facility, University of Iowa.  


Post-doctoral fellows Yan Bai and FangFang Lai


Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda

Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda from Dr. Robert Wang's lab gave a talk on the Functional Relationship Between FKBP38 and HSP90 in CFTR Biogenesis

Sima Rahman from Dr. Beata Lecka-Czernik's lab gave a talk entitled Beta-Catenin Sequesters PPARgamma2 Pro-Adipocytic Activity



Steven Haller (left) and Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda (right)


FangFang Lai, PhD and Namrata Madan


Yoann Sottejeau (right) explains his poster to Dr. Paul Hollenberg, Chair of Pharmacology at the U. of Michigan, also Aude Belliard, PhD (foreground) with audience and Yanling Yan (top left) with her poster


Leah Palladino, Lance Stechschulte and Xiaoliang Qiu


Dr. Stephanie Watts (MSU faculty) makes a point to MSU student Priya Balasubramanian


Visiting student Amrei Krings talks with Kristine Angevine


Jian Wu with post-doctoral fellows Yan Bai and FangFang Lai


Lunch-time: Fish in pond by the Radiology Auditorium 


Tanoya Harris, Leah Palladino and Kristine Angevine


Leah Palladino, Amrei Krings, Tanoya Harris, Kristine Angevine and Jean-Yves Tano


Qiming Duan, Xiaoliang Qiu, Aude Belliard and Valerie Cummings

Tony Mazzaschi, PhD gave a talk on The Role of Faculty and Students in Advancing the Nation's Research Agenda


Danny Kim, PhD and Yoann Sottejeau


Jean-Yves Tano explains his work to Dr. Kim


Dr. Danny Kim asks Jean-Yves Tano a tricky question


Summer students Karen Judd and Valerie Cummings


Yiliang Chen, PhD post-doc in Dr ZiJian Xie's lab explains his poster


Sivarajan Kumarasamy, PhD post-doc in Dr. Bina Joe's lab with CVMD Track Director, Andrew Beavis, PhD


Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda


Kristine Angevine and Amrei Krings


Tanoya Harris explains her work to summer student Valerie Cummings


A poster judge asks Jean-Yves Tano another tricky question


Lance Stechschulte with his poster

Qiming Duan views Lance Stechschulte's poster



Jean-Yves Tano and Amrei Krings

 Next year, the 38th Annual Colloquium will be hosted by our department at the University of Toledo.

Last Updated: 6/26/15