Cardiovascular and Metabolic Diseases Graduate Program Track

Graduates of the Cardiovascular and Metabolic Diseases Track

Moustafa Sayed, 
PhD Defense, March 28, 2014

Project:   Effects of Na/K ATPase Pump and its Ligands on the Differentiation of Bone Marrow Stem Cells
Advisor:  Dr. Jiang Tian 
(Dept of Medicine)
E-mail:  Moustafa.Moawad@utoledo.edu
blank image
Xingjian Jin
PhD Defense, March 25, 2014
Project: 
Advisor:  Dr. Surya Nauli 

E-mail: Xingjian.Jin@utoledo.edu
blank image
Qiming Duan, M.D.
PhD Defense, December 20, 2013
Project: Cardiac Na/K-ATPase and Ishemia-reperfusion Injury.
Advisor: Dr. Sandrine Pierre
E-mail: Qiming.Duan@rockets.utoledo.edu     
ghg
Jian Wu
Ph.D. Defense, November 1,2013
Project: The role of Na/P-ATPase alpha1-associated P13Kalpha signalings in ouabain-induced adult mouse cardiomyocyte hypertrophy.
Advisor: Lijun Liu, Ph.D.
E-mailJian.Wu2@rockets.utoledo.edu
gdfg

Moumita Banerjee, M.Sc., B.Sc.
PhD Defense, Fall 2014
Project: The importance of the second cytoplasmic domain of Na/K ATPase in interaction with Src.
Advisor: Dr. Zi-Jian Xie
E-mailMoumita.Banerjee@rockets.utoledo.edu
         

gfg

Varunkumar Pandey, M.Sc., B.Sc.
PhD Defense August 28, 2013
Project: The effect of glucocorticoids on regulation of the human angiotensinogen gene and blood pressure.
Advisor: Dr. Ashok Kumar
E-mail: Varunkumar.Pandey@utoledo.edu

gfd

 

Sumit Ranjan Monu, DVM 
PhD defense June 13, 2013     
Project:  Heme oxygenase system in myocardial infarction and post ischemic renal dysfunction.
Advisor: Dr. Nader Abraham
E-mail: Sumit.Monu@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Monu accepted a postdoctoral fellow position in the lab of Dr. Oscar Carretero at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, MI.

gdsg

 

Xiaoliang Qiu
PhD defense June 11, 2013 
Project: Kiss1 neurons and metabolic sensing.
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Hill
E-mail: Xiaoliang.Qiu@rockets.utoledo.edu

dfsgsd 

Lance Stechschulte 
PhD defense June 4,  2013  
Project:
 The Co-chaperones FKBP51 and PP5 control nuclear receptor phosphorylation and adipogenesis.
Advisor: Dr. Edwin Sanchez
E-mail:Lance.Stechschulte@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

lance stechschulte

Kristine Angevine
PhD  defense October 30, 2012 
Project: The interaction of endothelial cells and mesenchymal stem cells.
Advisor: Dr. Mensah-Osman
E-mail: Kristine.Angevine@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Angevine is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biological Chemistry at the University of Michigan.

gf 

 

Jean-Yves Tano
PhD  defense November 2, 2012
Project: The role of TRPC3 channels in macrophage survival: Potential implications in atherogenesis.
Advisor: Dr. Guillermo Vazquez
E-mail: Jean-Yves.Tano@rockets.utoledo.edu

In April 2013, Dr. Tano, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Dr. Guillermo Vazquez, was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship from the Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation to perform studies at Dr. Maik Gollasch's lab at the Max Delbrueck Center in Berlin for two years. 

hgf 

Leah Wuescher
Ph.D. defense November 1, 2012
Project: The role of the menin protein in hepatic metabolism.
Advisor: Dr. Mensah-Osman
E-mail: Leah.Palladino@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Wuescher has joined the UT Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology as a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Randall Worth's laboratory.

fgd 

Qiqi Ye
PhD  defense May 18, 2012
Project: Regulation of SRC by alpha 1 Na/K-ATPase
Advisor:  Dr. Zi-Jian Xie

E-mail:  Qiqi.Ye@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Ye will be a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Choi's lab at Yale University, New Haven, CT.

 

 gfd

Yanling Yan
PhD defense May 25, 2012
Project:  Na/K-ATPase signaling mediates renal sodium handling
Advisor:  Dr. Joseph Shapiro
E-mail:  Yanling.Yan@utoledo.edu

Dr. Yanling accepted a postdoctoral fellow position in Dr. Shapiro's lab at Marshall University, Huntington, WV.

 fdfd


Sumona Ghosh 

PhD   March 16, 2012
Project: A novel role for CEACAM1 in hepatic stellate cell activation in the progression of non-alcoholic steatopepatitis
Advisor: Dr. Sonia Najjar  (CeDER)
E-mail: Sumona.Ghosh@rockets.utoledo.edu       

 rere

Steven Haller
PhD   Graduated 2012
Project: Marinobufagenin Induced Uremic Cardiomyopathy: The role of passive immunization, rapamycin, and CD40 signaling in the generation of renal fibrosis
Advisor:  Dr. Joseph Shapiro
E-mail:  Steven.Haller@utoledo.edu

Dr. Haller is a postdoctoral fellow in the UT Department of Medicine. 

 gfdgfd

Sadeesh Kumar Ramakrishnan
PhD  March 16, 2012
Project:  Dietary fat regulates metabolic and mitogenic effects of insulin
Advisor: Dr. Sonia Najjar  (CeDER)
E-mail: Sadeesh.Ramakrishnan@utoledo.edu    

 dsff


Kathryn Smedlund
PhD   defense January 20, 2012
Project: The role of TRPC3 channels in the molecular and cellular events associated to atherogenesis
Advisor: Dr. Guillermo Vazquez   
E-mail: Kathryn.Smedlund@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Smedlund is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Guillermo Vazquez, UT Department of Physiology and Pharmacology.

sdf

 

Yeshavanth Banasavadi-Siddegowda
Ph.D. defense November 10, 2011
Project:  Functional dissection of FKBP38 in the biogenesis of cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator in the endoplasmic reticulum
Advisor: Dr. Xiaodong Wang

E-mail: Yeshavanthkumar.BanasavadiSiddegowda@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

fdfd

Ashwin Prakash
Ph.D.  defense November 4, 2011
Project:  Evolution and function of compositional patterns in mammalian genomes
Advisor:  Dr. Alexei Fedorov
Advisor: E-mail: Ashwin.Prakash@utoledo.edu

 gsfdg



Sima Rahman

Ph.D. Graduated 2011
Project:  Role of PPARγ2 in Marrow Mesenchymal Stem Cell Lineage Allocation and Regulation of Bone Mass
Advisor:
Beata Lecka-Czernik, Ph.D.
E-mail: Sima.Rahman@rockets.utoledo.edu

 picture not available

Vipula Petluru
Ph.D. defense June 21, 2011
Project: Selective modulation of PPARγ activities in marrow mesenchymal stem cells and their effects on bone
Advisor: 
Beata Lecka-Czernik, Ph.D.
E-mail:  Vipula.Petluru@rockets.utoledo.edu

Shuai Dong
M.S. Graduated 2011
Project:
The Na/K-ATPase/Caveolin-1 Interaction Regulates Cell Growth via a Cholesterol-Dependent Mechanism.

Advisor: Zi-Jian Xie, Ph.D.
E-Mail:  Shuai.Dong@rockets.utoledo.edu

Thomas Bowman
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Hepatic CEACAM1 Protects Against Diet-Induced Obesity
Advisor:
Sonia Najjar, Ph.D.
E-mail: Thomas.Bowman@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Bowman will do his post-dcotoral work with Dr. Andrew Greenberg  at the Human Nutrition Research Center of Tufts University in Boston.

Garrett Heinrich
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  A Role for CEACAM2 in Energy Balance and Peripheral Insulin Action
Advisor:
Sonia Najjar, Ph.D.
E-mail: Garrett.Heinrich@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Heinrich is now doing post-doctoral work in the laboratory of Domenico Accili, M.D., in the Dept. of Medicine at Columbia University in New York City. 

Terry Hinds
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Fatty Acid and Glucocorticoid Regulation of Lipid Storage and Obesity via Protein Phosphatase 5
Advisor:
Edwin Sanchez, Ph.D.

E-mail: Terry.Hinds@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Hinds, Assistant Professor in research and teaching, is a member of the UT Department of Physiology/Pharmacology.

Kelly Ledford
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  The Role of CEACAM1 in Cardiovascular Complications Associated with Metabolic Diseases
Advisor: Sonia Najjar, Ph.D.

E-mail: Kelly.Ledford@rockets.utoledo.edu

Jehnan Liu
M.D., Ph.D. graduated PhD 2010
Project:  Correlation Between Visceral Obesity and Cancer Development
Advisor:
Sonia Najjar, Ph.D.
E-mail: Jehnan.Liu@rockets.utoledo.edu

Payal Patel
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Free Fatty Acid Regulation of CEACAM1
Advisor:
Sonia Najjar, Ph.D.
E-mail: Payal.Patel@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dr. Patel has accepted a postdoctoral position in Dr. Jason Kim's lab at University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Gargi Roy
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Sorting Signals, Domain Conformation and Interdomain Interactions in CFTR Misprocessing and Rescue
Advisor:
Xiaodong Robert Wang, Ph.D.

Dr. Roy is doing post-doctoral work with Dr. James Douglas Engel, Ph.D., G. Carl Huber Professor of Developmental Biology, Chair, Cell & Developmental Biology, and Co-Director of the Center for Organogenesis, at the University of Michigan

Rudel Saunders
Ph.D. Graduated 2009
Project:  Characterization of the Anti-Obesity and Antiadipogenic Effects of the Limonoid Prieurianin
Advisor:
Khew-Voon Chin, Ph.D.
E-mail: Rudel.Saunders@utoledo.edu

Dr. Saunders is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Mark Wooten in the Dept. of Medical Microbiology and Immunology at UT.

Anita Saxena
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Hsp105 Plays an Important Role in the ER Associated Folding and Conformational Maturation of DF508-CFTR Thereby Increasing its Export at the Cell Surface
Advisor:
Xiaodong Robert Wang, Ph.D.
E-mail: Anita.Saxena@rockets.utoledo.edu

Samuel Shepard
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Pattern Formation and Self-Organization in the Human Genome and Other Species
Advisor: 
Alexei Fedorov, Ph.D.
E-mail: Samuel.Shepard@utoledo.edu

Maria Szkudlarek
Ph.D. Graduated 2010
Project:  Transcriptional Regulation of Adipogenesis by Prieurianin
Advisor:  
Khew-Voon Chin, Ph.D.
E-mail: Maria.szkudlarek@utoledo.edu

Shadi Zahedi
M.S.B.S. Graduated 2010
Advisor:  David Giovannucci, Ph.D.
E-mail:
Shadi.Zahedi@rockets.utoledo.edu

 
Last Updated: 3/22/15