Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Chemistry & Biochemistry Colloquium 2015-2016

Colloquia are held at 4:00 p.m. in WO1205 unless otherwise noted.

Fall 2016                                             SPEAKER
August 24 (Wed)

TBD

August 29 (Mon)

Dr. Eli Chapman, University of Arizona
Title: Changing the Drug Discovery Perspective
Host: Steve Sucheck

August 31 (Wed)

Hosein Tafazolian - Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Joe Schmidt

September 5 (Mon)

Labor Day - no classes

September 7 (Wed)

Faculty Research

September 9 (Fri)

Faculty Research

September 12 (Mon)

Faculty Research

September 14 (Wed)

 Faculty Research

September 19 (Mon)

TBD

September 21 (Wed)

 TBD

September 26 (Mon)

Dr. Vaidehi Nagarajan, City of Hope
Host: Ajith Karunarathne

September 28 (Wed)

Dr. Judith Giordan, Lens of the Market®
Title: The Convergence of University Research, Technology Commercialization & Career Development: A New 21st Century Contact Sport
Host: Mark Mason

October 3 (Mon)

Fall Break

October 5 (Wed)

TBD

October 10 (Mon)

Dr. Toby Nelson, Oklahoma State University
Host: Cora Lind-Kovacs

October 12 (Wed)

Spartan Chemicals
Webinar (3-4 pm, to register, click here)

October 17 (Mon)

TBD

October 19 (Wed)

Dr. Qiu Wang, Duke University
Host: Wei Li

October 21 (Fri)

Dr. Wei Shi, University of Arkansas - Michigan Tour
Host: Peter Andreana

October 24 (Mon)

TBD

October 26 (Wed)

TBD

October 31 (Mon)

TBD

November 2 (Wed)

TBD

November 7 (Mon) TBD
November 9 (Wed)

TBD

November 14 (Mon)

Dr. Joseph Barchi, NIH/NCI
Host: Peter Andreana

 

November 16 (Wed)

Dr. Hening Lin, Cornell University
Host: Don Ronning

November 18 (Fri)

Yeakub Zaker - Public Defense
Advisor: Terry Bigioni

November 21 (Mon)

Dr. Benjamin Swarts, Central Michigan University
Host: Steve Sucheck

November 23 (Wed)

Thanksgiving Break

November 28 (Mon)

TBD

November 30 (Wed)

Hai Nguyen - Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Jianglong Zhu

December 5 (Mon)

Praneeth Siripurapu - Public Defense
Advisor: Ajith Karunarathne

December 7 (Wed)  
   Summer 2016                                             SPEAKER
May 16th

TBD

May 18th

TBD

May 23rd

TBD

May 25th

TBD

May 30th

 No colloquium, Memorial Day

June 1st

TBD

June 6th

 TBD

June 8th

TBD

June 13th

 TBD

June 15th

TBD

June 20th

Bharani Thangavelu-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Ronald Viola

June 22nd

TBD

June 27th

TBD

June 29th

TBD

July 4th

Independence Day

July 6th

Siddhita Abhijeet Shirsat-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Dragan Isailovic

July 11th

Raymond West-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Dragan Isailovic

July 13th

TBD

 July 18th

Rachel Marvin - Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Dragan Isailovic

July 20th

Ajith Yapa Mudiyanselage-Public Dissertation Seminar

July 25th

Mengchao Shi-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Peter Andreana

July 27th

Kevin Trabbic-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Peter Andreana

August 1st Gurdat Pramnauth-Public Defense
Advisor: Peter Andreana
August 3rd

Sharmeen Nishat-Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Peter Andreana

 

    SPRING 2016                                             SPEAKER
January 11th

No colloquium

January 18th

No colloquium, MLK holiday

January 25th

 

January 31st

 

February 1st

 

 February 8th

 

February 10th

Faculty candidate

February 15th

TBD

February 17th

TBD

 February 22nd

Dr. Peter N. Devreotes-2016 Frontiers in Chemistry Speaker

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Host: Ajith Karunarathne

February 24th 

Invited Speaker, Please see the notice board for more information.

February 29th Invited Speaker, Please see the notice board for more information.
March 2nd Invited Speaker, Please see the notice board for more information.
 March 7th

No colloquium, Spring Break

 March 14th

 

 March 16th

Dr. Ana C. Alba-Rubio, University of Toledo

Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Host - Wei Li

 March 21st

Dr. Cynthia J. Burrows, University of Utah

2016 Organic Syntheses Lecturer

Host - Peter Andreana

March 25th

Dr. Justin Ragains, Louisiana State University

Host - Peter Andreana

 March 28th

Dr. Sadashiva KarnikCleveland Clinic 

Host: Ajith Karunarathne

 April 4th

 Dr. Mary Kay Pflum, Wayne State University

 Host: Ajith Karunarathne

 April11th

Dr. James W. Janetka, Washington University in St. Louis

Host: Steve Sucheck

April 18th

Dr. John J. G. Tesmer, University of Michigan

Host: Ajith Karunarathne 

April 20th

Sri Kumar Veleti

Public Dissertation Seminar
Advisor: Steve Sucheck

April 22nd

Dr. Amy Cannon, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, beyond benign

Host: Bigioni

April 25th

Dr. Eric Greene
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Columbia University
Host: Ronning

April 27th

 

April 29th

 

Fall 2015

Speaker 

Monday, August 31

Ravi Alla
Isailovic research group

Monday, Sept 7th

Labor Day-No Seminar

Monday, Sept 14th

TBA

Monday, Sept 21st

TBA

Wednesday, Sept 30th

Dr. John C. Warner
Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry
Frontiers Centennial Speaker 

Friday, October 2nd 

Partha Karmakar, Dissertation Defense,                    

Advisor: Steven J. Sucheck

Monday, October 5th 

Fall Break-No Seminar

Monday, October 12th        

Dr. Jared Piper
Eli Lilly and Company
Host: Peter Andreana

Monday, October 19th

TBA

Monday, October 26th

Dr. Kirk Mykytyn
The Ohio State University
Host: Ajith Karunarathne

Monday, Nov 2th

Dr. Diane Schmidt
ACS President

Wednesday, Nov 4th

Dr. David Clemmer
Indiana University
Host: Dragan Isailovic

Monday, Nov 9th

Dr. Eric C. Long
IUPUI
Host: Steven Sucheck

Monday, Nov 16th

Dr. Wei Zhang
University of Massachusetts
Host: Mark Mason

Monday, Nov 23rd

Dr. Rejji Kuruvilla
Johns Hopkins University
Host: Ajith Karunarathne

Monday, Nov 30th

Najafi Ali, Public Defense

Advisor: Jared Anderson

Wednesday, Dec 2nd

Dr. John Montgomery
University of Michigan
Host: Joseph Schmidt

Friday, Dec 4th

Samantha Bouhall, Public Defense
Advisor: Steve Sucheck

Monday, December 7th

Faculty Candidate 

Wednesday, December 9th

Faculty Candidate

 Monday, December 14th

Faculty Candidate

 

Schedules

Last Updated: 8/25/16