School of Green Chemistry and Engineering


The second meeting of the SGCE Advisory Board was held on April 14, 2017.  The SGCE greatly appreciates the board members' time and valuable feedback and suggestions. Click here for the names of SGCE board members.

Congratulations to Badri Bhattarai and Yasaman Saleh on their admission to the ACS Summer School for Green Chemistry and Sustainable Energy.  The school will be held at the Colorado School of Mines on June 20-27 with funding for the program provided by the ACS Petroleum Research Fund and the American Chemical Society.  Badri is a doctoral student of Dr. Terry Bigioni, and Yasaman is a doctoral student of Dr. Mark Mason.

Congratulations to Professor Andrew Jorgensen for receipt of a 2016-2017 Edith Rathbun Award for Excellence in Outreach and Engagement at the University of Toledo.  Prof. Jorgensen was recognized for his considerable efforts in science education and outreach, particularly those related to climate change and sustainability.


Congratulations to Badri Bhattarai for receipt of a Ciba Travel Award.  Badri will attend the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco in  April 2017 and will present his research results on greener routes for the synthesis of silver nanoparticles.  Badri is a doctoral student of Dr. Terry Bigioni.  Learn more

The UT SGCE partnered with the U.S. EPA, Ohio EPA, and Spartan Chemical to host a webinar on Green Chemistry, Safer Choices. The webinar is available here for those who missed it. Webinar Link

Dr. Anne Marteel-Parrish, Professor of Chemistry and the Creegan Chair in Green Chemistry at Washington College, has been named the 2016 Outstanding Alumna for the UT College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.  Dr. Marteel-Parrish received her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Toledo in 2003. Her doctoral research, conducted with Professors Julian Davies, Mark Mason, and Martin Abraham, focused on the hydroformylation of alkenes in supercritical carbon dioxide.  


Congratulations to Brooke Mason for receipt of a Ciba Travel Award.  The award will support Brooke's travel to the ACS Green Chemistry and Engineering Conference in June of 2016.  Brooke is a graduate student of Dr. Defne Apul.

Paul Anastas and John Warner participate in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry's centennial celebration. 

PSM Logo   The UT Professional Science Masters Degree in Green Chemistry and Engineering receives affiliation approval from          the National Professional Science Masters Association (NPSMA). 

The SGCE hosts the first meeting of its advisory board.  

UT hires three new faculty members with interests in green chemistry and green engineering.


GCEC Group Photo 2012  The UT SGCE was well represented by faculty, students, staff, and alumni at the 16th
   Annual ACS Green Chemistry and Engineering Conference in Washington, DC. Learn more


Jorgensen ACS FellowDr. Andrew Jorgensen, University of Toledo Associate Professor of Chemistry, has been honored by selection to the 2012 class of American Chemical Society Fellows.  See article in UT News.  


AndreanaDr. Peter Andreana and his research group joined the SGCE and Department of Chemistry in August of 2012.  Dr. Andreana is a synthetic organic chemist with research interests in natural product synthesis, carbohydrate-based diversity oriented synthesis (DOS), carbohydrate-based vaccines and combinatorial methods for high-throughput screening.  The Andreana group incorporates principles of green chemistry into their research as illustrated by development of a novel multicomponent, single pot coupling reaction to give complex heterocycles in high yield and with high atom economy.  Further information on Dr. Andreana and his research can be found at the Andreana faculty profile.


Nina McClellandDr. Nina McClelland, University of Toledo Dean emerita and driving force for the formation of the SGCE, has been honored by selection to the 2011 class of American Chemical Society Fellows.  See article and media clip in UT News.   


Anne MarteelDr. Anne Marteel-Parrish, former UT chemistry graduate (Ph.D. 2003) and chair of the Department of Chemistry at Washington College in Chestertown, Maryland, has been appointed the inaugural  Frank J. Creegan Chair in Green Chemistry at Washington College.  This endowed chair position was created by a $2 million donation from an anonymous donor, and is only the second designated green chemistry chair in the nation.  Dr. Marteel-Parrish was a doctoral student of Professors Julian Davies and Mark Mason, and worked in collaboration with Professor Martin Abraham on an EPA-funded project focussed on hydroformylation of 1-hexene in supercritical carbon dioxide.

President Lloyd Jacobs of The University of Toledo announces creation of the School of Green Chemistry and Engineering (SGCE).  Dr. Paul Anastas, "father of green chemistry" and EPA assistant administrator for Office of Research and Development, Dr. Matthew Platz, Director of the Division of Chemistry at the National Science Foundation, and Robert Peoples, Director of the ACS Green Chemistry Institute, participate in the announcement event in July 2011.  See media clip and article in UT News.



                 School of Green Chemistry and Engineering, University of Toledo, 2801 West Bancroft St., Toledo, OH 43606-3390
Last Updated: 6/30/19