Molecular Medicine Graduate Program Track

Current Students in the Molecular Medicine Track

                                              

Ahmed Al-Khudhair, BVM, MPH, MSBS 
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
Genetic Make-up of Hypertension
Advisor:  Dr. Juan Jaume
Hometown:  
Baghdad, Iraq 
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  BVM and MPH, University of Baghdad, Iraq; MSBS, College of Medicine and Life Sciences, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH
E-mail:  Ahmed.Alkhudhair@rockets.utoledo.edu  

 blank image

Khalil Almotah, BHS, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
Type 1 Diabetes
Advisor:  Dr. Juan Jaume
Hometown: 
Saudi Arabia
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  University of Cincinnati, undergrad; Case Western Reserve University, Masters of Medical Physiology
E-mail:  Khalil.Almotah@rockets.utoledo.edu  

 Khalil

Usman M. Ashraf, BS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track

Project: TBD
Advisor:  TBD
Hometown: Bloomington, Indiana
Undergraduate/Graduate University: BS, Biochemistry, University of Indiana
E-mail: Usman.Ashraf@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Usman Ashraf
 

Sudipta Baroi, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME track
Project: 
tbd
Advisor: 
tbd
Hometown: 
Barisal, Bangladesh
Undergraduate/Graduate University: 
University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
E-Mail: 
Sudipta.Baroi@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Sudipta Baroi
 

Saroj Chakraborty, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME track
Project: 
Genome, Microbiome and Hypertension
Advisor: 
Dr. Bina Joe
Hometown: 
Panditpara, Bangladesh
Undergraduate/Graduate University: 
University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
E-Mail: 
Saroj.Chakraborty@rockets.utoledo.edu

 fdsfsd 

Amit Sopan Chougule, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
Bone Mass Control by Nuclear Receptors PPARx and PPARy
Advisor: 
Dr. Beata Lecka-Czernik
Hometown:  Maharashtra, India
Undergraduate and Graduate Universities:  Bachelors, Dr. D.Y. Patil University, Mumbai; University of Toledo, MSBS
Email:  AmitSopan.Chougule@rockets.utoledo.edu

 fdsfsd 

Prabhatchandra Dube
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  TRPC3 channels and calcification of atherosclerotic lesions.
Advisor:  Dr. Guillermo Vazquez
Hometown:  Valsad, India
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Sardar Patel University, India
E-mail:  Prabhatchandra.Dube@rockets.utoledo.edu

fgfg 

Rajib Dutta, MBBS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  tbd
Advisor: Dr. Alexei Fedorov
Hometown:  Kolkata, India
Undergraduate/Graduate University
: M.B.B.S. N.R.S. Medical College of the University of Calcutta
 
E-mail: Rajib.Dutta@rockets.utoledo.edu

Dutta 

Jonnelle Edwards
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
tbd
Advisor: tbd
Hometown: Holland, Ohio
Undergraduate/Graduate University: BS in Biology, University of Toledo

E-mail:  Jonnelle.Edwards@rockets.utoledo.edu

edwards

Xiaoming Fan, B.S.
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: Intercellular Communication via exosome in cardiac diseased animal models.
Advisor: Dr. Jiang Tian
Hometown:  Shanghai
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Bachelor of Medicine Tongji University; Master of Medicine Shanghai Jiao Tong University

E-mail:  Xiaoming.Fan@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Fan

Kelsey Fout, B.S.
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: tbd
Advisor: tbd
Hometown:  Findlay, Ohio
Undergraduate/Graduate University: BS, Ohio State University

E-mail:  Kelsey.Fout@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Kelsey Fout

Sarah Galla, BS
MD-PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
Genome, Microbiome and Blood Pressure Regulation
Advisor:
Dr. Bina Joe
Hometown: 
Sagamore Hills, OH
Undergraduate/Graduate University:
University of Toledo
E-mail:
 Sarah.Galla@rockets.utoledo.edu

Sarah

Hilda Ghadieh, B.S., M.S.
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: Role of Insulin Resistance in the Hepato-Endothelial Cell Axis in the Pathogenesis of Atherosclerosis
Advisor: Dr. Sonia Najjar
Hometown:  Kafarhabou, Lebanon
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  B.S. and
M.S. Biology, University of Balamand
E-mail: Hilda.Ghadieh@rockets.utoledo.edu

Hilda
 

Rachel Golonka
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  
tbd
Advisor:  
tbd
Hometown:
Canton, Michigan
Undergraduate/Graduate university:
BS in Biochemistry and Anthropology, University of Michigan
Email: R
achel.Golonka@rockets.utoledo.edu 

golonka

Darren Gordon
MD/PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  
tbd
Advisor:  
Dr. Terry Hinds
Hometown: Detroit, Michigan
Undergraduate/Graduate university: University of Michigan
Email: Darren.Gordon@rockets.utoledo.edu

darren gordon

Woojin Han, BS
MD-PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: tbd
Advisor: tbd
Hometown:  Woodstock, Maryland
Undergraduate/Graduate University: BS, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland
E-mail: Woojin.Han@rockets.utoledo.edu

Woojin Han

Fatimah Khalaf, M.B.CH.B
MD-PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: Cardiotonic Steroids in Cardiorenal Syndrome
Advisor: Dr. David Kennedy
Hometown:  Baghdad, Iraq
Undergraduate/Medical School:  University of Kufa, College of Medicine, Iraq (2014)
E-mail: Kareem.Khalaf@rockets.utoledo.edu 

 Fatimah

Iyad Manarserh, BS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track

Project: The Origin of Subfertility in NIRKO Mice
Advisor:  Dr. Jennifer Hill
Hometown: 
Jordan
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Earlham College Indiana
E-mail: Iyad.Manaserh@rockets.utoledo.edu
 

 Iyad

Chrysan Mohammed, BS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: 
tbd
Advisor: Dr. David Kennedy
Hometown:  Loxahatchee, Florida
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  BS, Earlham College, Richmond Indiana
E-mail:  Chrysan.Mohammed@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Chrysan Mohammed

Sravan Kumar Perla, M.S.
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  Role of Methylation in the Regulation of Gene Expression
Advisor: Dr. Ashok Kumar (NY)
Hometown:  Giddalur, India
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research (JIPMER), Puducherry
E-mail: Sravankumar.Perla@utoledo.edu

 Perla

Shermel Sherman, M.S.
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  tbd
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Hill
Hometown:
Undergraduate/Graduate University: BS, University of Maryland, College Park; MS, University of Toledo
E-mail: 
Shermel.Sherman@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Shermel Sherman

Mengjie Wang, BMSc
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: The Role of Insulin and IGF-1 signalings in metabolism and reproduction
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Hill
Hometown: Xi'an, China
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Bachelor of Medicine, Master of Pediatrics,
Guangxi Medical University, China
Email:  Mengjie.Wang@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Mengjie

Xiaoliang Wang, BS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: Interaction Between Na/K-Atpase and Caveolin-1
Advisor: Dr. Zi-Jain Xie
Hometown: Beijing, China
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Huazhong University of Science & Technology, Tongji Medical College
E-mail:  Xiaoliang.Wang@rockets.utoledo.edu

xdd 

Jeffrey Xie, BS
MD-PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  CD40 and Renal Fibrosis
Advisor: Dr. Steve Haller/Dr. Tian
Hometown:  Toledo, Ohio
Undergraduate/Graduate University: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
E-mail: Jeffrey.Xie@rockets.utoledo.edu

blank image

Youjie Zhang, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project: Genetics of Aerobic Exercise Capacity and Related Disease Risk Using Inbred (HCR and LCR) Rats
Advisor: Dr. Bina Joe
Hometown: 
Undergraduate/Graduate University: Guangxi Medical University, China
E-mail: Youjie.Zhang@rockets.utoledo.edu

Zhang 

Shungang Zhang, MS
PhD Candidate, MOME Track
Project:  Role of CD40 on Development of Renal Fibrosis
Advisor:  Dr. Steven Haller
Hometown:  Hedong District, Tianjin, China
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  M.S., Michigan Tech University
Email:  Shungang.Zhang@rockets.utoledo.edu

 Shungang
Last Updated: 9/13/17