Choose Ohio First

Technical Workforce in STEM Education (TechWISE) Scholarship Program

who is eligible for the techwise scholarship?

  • Construction Engineering Technology 
  • Cosmetic Science and Formulation Design 
  • Data Analytics 
  • Data Science 
  • Electrical Engineering Technology 
  • Geography 
  • Health Care Administration and Compliance 
  • Health Information Administration 
  • Health Sciences 
  • Information Systems 
  • Mathematics 
  • Mechanical Engineering Technology 
  • Medicinal and Biological Chemistry
  • Neuroscience 
  • Operations & Supply Chain Management 
  • Pharmaceutics 
  • Pharmacology-Toxicology 
  • Pharmacy (Doctor of Pharmacy)* 
  • Pharmacy Administration 
  • Physics 
  • Public Health 
  • Radiation Therapy 
  • Recreational Therapy 
  • Respiratory Care 
  • Speech Language Pathology 

*Scholarship applies only through the P2 year, not at the graduate level 

application deadline

February 15, 2024

How to Apply

Applicants must submit:

Scholarship details

  • A minimum of $4,000 a year awarded for up to four years or eight semesters of full-time coursework
  • This scholarship can be combined with UToledo merit scholarships. This means that some Choose Ohio First scholars will have full coverage of all tuition and student general fees.
  • Scholarship recipients will engage in a variety of activities based on their major.

The goal of this program is to attract highly qualified students to specialized STEM degree programs that have high employer demand. Graduates of these disciplines have expertise that supports the technical requirements of Ohio’s growing employer base.  

We encourage students from groups traditionally underrepresented in STEM — including women and first-generation students — to apply for the Choose Ohio First scholarship.

Have questions?

Dr. Zhiwei Chen, Math senior lecturer

Actuarial Sciences - Dr. Zhiwei Chen

Senior Lecturer

Department of Mathematics and Statistics



Nasser Alaraje, Engineering Technology chair

Engineering Technology - Dr. Nasser Alaraje

Professor and Chair

Department of Engineering Technology

419. 530.3129


Dr. James Slama, director of pharmacy bachelor's programs

Pharmaceutical Sciences - Dr. James Slama

Director of the Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences Program

Professor for Medicinal and Biological Chemistry

College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences




Last Updated: 4/15/24